Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-02-2006, 06:14 AM

Default Music Video Playback Masters

Ok! I've been doing playback for music videos(on location) for about 7 years now, and some clients have asked if I can do the master and off-speed processing! I have ProTools LE, and a TC Generator. I've posted elsewhere and got this response in regards to the offspeed process....

Audio - 24fps/(x)fps=(y) Time Compress/Expand

TC - (x)fps/24fps=(y) PitchShift

...to me this sounds like a logical formula. Am I right?

Client wants 36fps playback, and 24fps playback.

Started a 16bit, 48K, BWF Session(because I was used to getting 48k DATs in the field, my final product needs to be in 48k, right?)

I recorded the music in A/D through PT(could I simply import the AIFF from the CD?, or would that be "speeding" the song up roughly 8%?), and 29.97ND TC from the Generator. Put the start of the song @ 01:00:00:00 on the Timeline and with the TC recorded in. I trimed the song to that point also. Put in the beeps, and output to the Deva II for playback and the DAT for the telecine Master. (ps. I pull it up in the field with the Deva)

For the 36 fps playback, the formula spat out...

Music= .75 Time Compress
TC=1.5 Pitchshift

I appplied the Time Compress to the music with DigiRack Time Compress Plug-in. In the Ratio field I entered .75:1, and processed it. The TC, I pitch shifted with the Digirack Pitch Shift Plug-in. In the Ratio field I entered 1.5:1, and processed it, with the Time Corrrection OFF(otherwise TC was unreadable).