Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 12-08-2010, 01:19 PM

Default PT9, Win7 64 freezing up system, etc.

Hello everyone, I'm a certified NOOB and just getting into PT9, recording, etc. and need a little assistance. I've been having two issues with my PT9:

1) After working in PT9 (trying to learn the ropes) I close the program. Things seem to be fine but if I come back later to my PC it's locked up and I have to reboot.

2) I can't seem to get PT9 to play back through my PC speakers (Bose Companion 5 system with USB connection).

I've gone through the forum here and did the suggested Win 7 tweaks and haven't had any luck. This system freeze also happens on my laptop and I haven't been using PT9 on it although it's installed. I'm thinking it could be related to the ASIO4All driver but am not sure and don't have any other options listed in the Playback Engine window. I can listen and work through a set of headphones connected to my PC but it won't play back through the speakers. I did see where these speakers are only 16 bit so that may be the problem there but again am not sure. The speaker thing is relatively minor as I can use my headphones but I don't want to spend the cash on studio monitors only find that they won't work either.

Any thoughts or assistance would be greatly appreciated! I'm currently running a Sandra report on my main PC (seems to be taking forever) and will include that when it finishes. Thanks in advance for any help y'all can provide.

Larry
Old 12-08-2010, 02:36 PM

Default Re: PT9, Win7 64 freezing up system, etc.