Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2015, 08:27 PM
AllThingsMusicStudio AllThingsMusicStudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 38
Default MBox 3 Mini - Static and Noise Issues

I just purchased a NOS MBox 3 Mini for use with a Windows Desktop.

Installed Pro Tools Express as well as current M Box driver.

Basically when trying to monitor sound through the MBox I get very loud shots of static and noise. When I create and or open a session I get the same static and noise issues anytime there is audio coming through. Whether I attempt to play a track with audio on it or engage the "Record" button and attempt to record to a track. Same issues.

Any help or troubleshoot would be appreciated.
__________________
Early 2008 Mac Pro
2 x 3.2 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
10 GB 800 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
Mac OS X Mavericks 10.9.1
Digi003R+
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-04-2015, 05:53 PM
phoketztight phoketztight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 20
Default Re: MBox 3 Mini - Static and Noise Issues

Same thing is happening to mine all of a sudden spikes of some sort static short bursts Unuseable like this

Ahh after digging i found some info..What a load brand new interface and it dosent support USB 3.0 which has been out for years.If i had of know that i wouldnt have bought the damn thing!

USB 3.0 ports on Windows 7 are not supported.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-04-2015, 07:40 PM
AllThingsMusicStudio AllThingsMusicStudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 38
Default Re: MBox 3 Mini - Static and Noise Issues

Thanks. I read that on the Avid support page as well.

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...t-Track-family

Curious as to a work around if this is in fact my issue? Either a setting adjust in the BIOS for "legacy usb" or perhaps connecting through a USB 2.0 hub before going into the 3.0 on the computer. Essentially dumbing it down.

Hopefully here is a fix out there being this was all just recently purchased.

I a a Mac user for my studio setup. These issues aren't anything I normally experience. The windows machine is functioning as an alternate for client use. So far it's a bust.
__________________
Early 2008 Mac Pro
2 x 3.2 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
10 GB 800 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
Mac OS X Mavericks 10.9.1
Digi003R+
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-17-2015, 07:19 AM
phoketztight phoketztight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 20
Default

Well after fiddling around its def the 3.0 port switched to 2.0 and not a scratch or noise BUT! I also disabled my onboard sound card and moved my mouse and mpc studio to the other side of my laptop and the mbox is on the other side alone.As soon as i plug my mouse up on that side with the mbox the noise comes right back.So maybe a powered hub is the way to go.As of now i have 3 usb ports that are unusable because of the mbox needs a whole side alone.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-14-2021, 10:56 AM
CityZen CityZen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: New York City
Posts: 1
Default Re: MBox 3 Mini - Static and Noise Issues

I experienced the same problem with an Mbox Mini: lots of static on the output (it was plugged into a USB 3 hub). After doing a search and seeing this page, I tried plugging the Mini into a USB 2 hub that was plugged into a USB 3 port, and found that it worked fine that way.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stabs of Static/White Noise from Mbox Mini 3 onedope 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 07-17-2012 08:21 PM
A few Issues I'm still having Static noise and 48khz sample rate Caatalyst Windows 16 01-18-2012 04:07 AM
Nothing but static from Mbox 2 mini pfledderjon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 05-14-2010 12:58 PM
Mbox 2 mini static ProtaJay 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-04-2009 03:58 PM
MBOX 2 Mini Static acuraboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-10-2008 04:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com