Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-2019, 10:40 AM
Justin1524 Justin1524 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 668
Default HD Native Core Audio Driver 2019.12

I'm using macOS Mojave 10.14.6 with Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12.0

The good news: HD driver 2019.12 works well with Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12.0 - even buffer down as low as 32ms is impressively better.

The bad news: Using the HD driver 2019.12 Core Audio driver with Studio One Pro latest version is hit or miss, freezes Studio one and almost always have to "initialize" my interfaces (2 Digi 192 blues) using Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12.0 rather than just landing the AvidAudioServerLauncher then run Studio One.

Feedback to Avid: fix your broken Core Audio Driver so I can use other DAWs with the HD Native Driver. Thank you!
__________________
Justin (Proud Pro Tools Ultimate PERPETUAL license owner)
Admin
www.elevenrackpresets.com
Studio: 2021 Mac Studio Ultra M1 20 Core CPU, 48 Core GPU, 64GB Ram, 4TB SSD boot | Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.12 | PreSonus Quantum 4848 interface | Digi PRE, FR OctoPre MKII, Mackie Onyx 800R, Panasonic WZ-AD96M and DA7, Eleven Rack, Apogee Big Ben, Mercury, Rode K2, Slate VMS ML-1. Laptop: Dell Inspiron 5559, i7-6500U 2.6Ghz, 16 GB RAM, 15.6" 1920x1080 1TB SSD

Last edited by Justin1524; 12-30-2019 at 11:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-09-2020, 12:21 AM
holyspicoli holyspicoli is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 71
Default Re: HD Native Core Audio Driver 2019.12

Hi Justin, having the same problem trying to use my HD Native card as audio interface with Studio One. What is your workaround exactly to get Studio one and the HD driver playing nice? When you say "initialize your interfaces" what do you mean exactly?


I'm using an Avid Omni interface into HD Native PCIe card and the latest versions of PT / HD Driver and Studio One (PT 2019.12 / S1 4.6). On a cheesegrater Mac Pro on Mac OS 10.13.16 (High Sierra).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-13-2020, 06:07 AM
JingleDjango JingleDjango is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 300
Default Re: HD Native Core Audio Driver 2019.12

Core Audio performance/stability had always been extremely poor for me. That's love is the reasons i ditched HD altogether.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-2020, 11:52 AM
bluskiff bluskiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 24
Default Re: HD Native Core Audio Driver 2019.12

ya that new 2019.12 driver is a mess. Im still on 10.13 but I can't get it to play nice with any of my other daws. Cubase only works when I do a complete restart before every new song. fruity loops only works after restart and DP won't even work. I just went back too 2019.6 driver. All working fine now. This just ate up way too much time.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-23-2020, 11:06 AM
685 685 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 328
Default Re: HD Native Core Audio Driver 2019.12

It's weird that this issued just started with Logic on my end. Worked fine for a long time then recently I closed a session, opened another one, and got no sound even though I could see the session playing on the screen. Switched to the built-in output and got sound. Restarted the computer and the sound worked with my HD Native card again...well that's until I moved to another session and the same issue popped up again. Its also a problem in other audio apps but Protools loads and runs fine.

I reinstalled Protools 2019.10 with no luck. I tried the 2019.12 HD driver. I also tried reinstalling Logic 10.4.7 and upgraded to 10.4.8 with no luck in fixing the problem with either version.

2010 MP running Mojave 10.14.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-29-2020, 09:44 AM
685 685 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 328
Default Re: HD Native Core Audio Driver 2019.12

I still can't solve the issue other than restarting the computer to get Logic or other audio programs to work with the HD driver. It will work a while on a few sessions then the "no audio" issue pops up again.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-29-2020, 09:29 PM
bluskiff bluskiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 24
Default Re: HD Native Core Audio Driver 2019.12

Getting the other daws to work was matching the buffer size of the session with the driver. In cubase in the control panel I found the pane configure app with a buffer setting. Hit the button an up comes the protools software mixer and on it is a buffer setting. If the buffer is same as the daw switch to a different buffer size and hit ok it should reset it self. The avid driver effects the daw buffer. Strange thats how I got it working . Funny avid aren't making this seamless The thought crossed my mind I might need another interface for my other daws. Thats why I have hd native its my base platform I run everything on. What if I bought an Apollo and liked it better? Come on avid can't you write a stupid audio driver.

Last edited by bluskiff; 01-29-2020 at 09:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Native instruments Maschine not opening in Yosemite OS bc of Avid Core audio Driver? amos922 Pro Tools 12 4 06-18-2015 12:27 PM
Core Audio Driver GreaserJesus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-04-2006 01:32 PM
'001 & WHAT CORE AUDIO DRIVER? skippy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 06-23-2005 10:50 AM
Bug in Digi Core Audio Driver? Driver update coming? mgbasinski 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-10-2003 08:59 PM
Will the core audio driver enable audio units ? linpaws 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-16-2003 02:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com