Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-01-2011, 03:51 AM
daniel.yengle daniel.yengle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 18
Default Multiple MIDI Tracks controlling one Instrument Track's MIDI

For example, I have NI Battery on one track.
I want to create multiple MIDI tracks so that one can control the kicks, another the clap, another the hi-hats, and so on.

Is this possible?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-01-2011, 12:05 PM
lownotesinc lownotesinc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 206
Default Re: Multiple MIDI Tracks controlling one Instrument Track's MIDI

I create adjacent MIDI tracks and assign them to trigger the intended instrument on an Instrument Track. For example, I'll have a track for MIDI Kick, it will send MIDI to the Instrument Track with Battery 3 as a RTAS plugin.
Did that help?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-01-2011, 01:46 PM
anothercolour anothercolour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 242
Default Re: Multiple MIDI Tracks controlling one Instrument Track's MIDI

Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel.yengle View Post
I want to create multiple MIDI tracks so that one can control the kicks, another the clap, another the hi-hats, and so on. Is this possible?
Yes. Assign the outputs of the MIDI tracks to the same instrument.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-04-2011, 03:27 AM
daniel.yengle daniel.yengle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 18
Thumbs up Re: Multiple MIDI Tracks controlling one Instrument Track's MIDI

Quote:
Originally Posted by anothercolour View Post
Yes. Assign the outputs of the MIDI tracks to the same instrument.
Thank you so much!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recording multiple Midi (instrument tracks) Bookerv12 Getting Started 9 02-08-2014 06:17 AM
MK-461C Midi Controller doing more than controlling the instrument Rhinestone Pro Tools 9 5 02-07-2014 11:20 AM
midi track record turns off all other midi/instrument tracks delay comp holyspicoli Virtual Instruments 4 07-18-2013 06:14 AM
Controlling multi instrument tracks with single MIDI track? MotifMan Virtual Instruments 10 07-21-2012 01:08 PM
Controlling tracks via Midi on TDM? Joris de Man Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-23-2005 02:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com