Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2010, 12:16 AM
humpback humpback is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 306
Default questions for migration to OS X

I am helping a friend migrate his m-powered (FW 410) rig to v8, and from a win lappy to a brand new mac (obviously SL).

He bought (and registered) 7.0 and never upgraded to 7.4 - never needed to. Am I reading correctly that he'll have to buy 8.0 at full price ($299)? That he is not eligible for upgrade pricing from 7 to 8? Can someone confirm? If so, this would be really unfortunate...

Best

Nathan Lowe
__________________
Studio:
Mac Mini 2.6 GHz i7
16GB RAM
PT 2019 and 10.14
UA Apollo Quad
Outboard:
2 x Summit Audio 2BA-221>TLA 50>EQF-100
2 x dbx 165a
4
x Shadow Hills GAMA
http://humpbackmedia.net[/SIZE]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-12-2010, 01:57 AM
caruso7r caruso7r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 842
Default Re: questions for migration to OS X

At least he'll save 50.00 goin to gtr center at 249.00
__________________
John
Pro Tools 12.5
Macbook Pro & Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-12-2010, 02:52 AM
humpback humpback is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 306
Default Re: questions for migration to OS X

So is that a round about way of confirming my suspicion? :)
__________________
Studio:
Mac Mini 2.6 GHz i7
16GB RAM
PT 2019 and 10.14
UA Apollo Quad
Outboard:
2 x Summit Audio 2BA-221>TLA 50>EQF-100
2 x dbx 165a
4
x Shadow Hills GAMA
http://humpbackmedia.net[/SIZE]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-12-2010, 03:18 AM
caruso7r caruso7r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 842
Default Re: questions for migration to OS X

I don't know for a fact but you can probably search around on the support papers on digi's site and look, but going from 7.0 to 8.0 my bet would be a full price because there was an upgrade going to 7.4...
__________________
John
Pro Tools 12.5
Macbook Pro & Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mac pro system migration for HDX use jafbox macOS 4 11-08-2011 07:19 AM
protools HD migration from PC to MAC snkishore18 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-30-2010 01:36 AM
LE to HD migration.. m4ca Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-03-2009 01:09 AM
002 Migration questions! Stixxs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-11-2006 04:10 PM
SSC obsolete? What to do about migration to osx Bob11 Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 12-21-2004 08:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com