Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 09-04-2012, 02:19 PM

Default PC Tower Case - Quiet for In-Room Audio?

I have a pretty nice PC (i7-920 quad-core with 6 GB DDR3) that I'm happily running Win 7 and Pro Tools 10.2 on. I'm just a hobbyist.

But the loudest thing in my room is the PC. I think it's because it's in just a standard case with a standard power supply. It's not terrible, but it's not "whisper quiet" - and on long acoustic guitar sustains - it becomes audible.

Anyone got a suggestion for a better "quiet" case - Something like an "Antec Sonata" case?
Old 09-04-2012, 02:35 PM

I have a nzxt h2 that I like. I also have an oversized power supply so that it's fan rarely, if ever, kicks on. Between those two I have a rig that's quiet enough for my needs.
Old 09-04-2012, 03:04 PM

Default Re: PC Tower Case - Quiet for In-Room Audio?

I had an Antec case - P182 or P183 if I remember correctly - which came with their manually adjustable "tricool" fans.

While the quality of the case itself was good, the fans weren't quiet enough for audio. They made a distinct hum at around 100Hz.

I tried some different Antec fans - ones that automatically adjusted their speed - and that didn't help.

In the end I found that Noctua case fans were the answer. Brilliantly quiet and unobtrusive even when sitting right next to the PC.

I'd recommend getting a nice roomy case, but not paying for one with prefitted fans. Buy the fans separately from Noctua. A roomy case means that you can then tweak the fans to the lowest safe speed while still having good air circulation.

Hope this helps.
Old 09-04-2012, 07:08 PM

Default Re: PC Tower Case - Quiet for In-Room Audio?