Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 12-28-2007, 05:59 PM

Default CPU Overload. Can\'t resolve issue.

Well, I'm fairly new to the OSX side of things and really new to Pro Tools (just bought an Mbox2 a couple weeks ago), but I have been having a dreadful time trying to sort out a CPU overload error on my Macbook (error -6101). Here's my specs before we get started:

- Macbook C2D
- OSX 10.4.9
- Pro Tools 7.4 LE w/cs2 update
- 1GB Memory
- LaCie D2 External (firewire)
- Mbox2
- USB Mouse

Here's what's happening: I'm getting the CPU Overload message (-6101) when trying to run two or three tracks with maybe three total plugins. For example, I get the error when running a two track mix (guitar and drums) with Amplitube2 and EZdrummer, nothing else. Sometimes it's immediate (as when I hit play) sometimes it'll play for 10 to 15 seconds and then error out. Other times it plays just fine with no issues. Having my PT computer usage window open shows it utilizing about 25% to 30% of the CPU in the RTAS section, so it doesn't appear to be threatening the threshold. Removing a plug from the drum track, say Ozone 3, will not cure this. Although the CPU meter goes down very slightly, the error code still randomly comes up as I describe above. Also when the error does occur the CPU meter never maxes out. It remains hovering at the percentage I mention.