Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-25-2007, 10:31 AM

Default Computer Recommendations

Hello All,
I'm a first time poster who is hoping to get some helpful suggestions. Here's my particulars:

I've been using a Pc and N-track for a couple of years. I was recently given a Digi 001 system and PT 6.4
I'd like to buy a mac that would be compatible with the 001 and would be dedicated solely for recording, no other uses.
I recording mainly single tracks, but sometimes record stereo tracks. It'll be used mainly for for just hobby purposes, but I don't want to run into any compatibility problems.
I've just recieved my tax refund check and could spend about $750. I'm not looking for anything really fancy, just enough to do my simple recordings.
I've been searching through the forum for a couple of days and it seems like the right type of computer is vital for PT. If anybody could give me "specific" suggestions of any entry level machine, or exactly what the machine should entail, I'd be forever greatful. If you could provide a link units that might be available in stores I'd even split all my lottery winnings with you!

Thanks in advance,

JB
Old 04-25-2007, 12:46 PM

Default Re: Computer Recommendations

You could probably get an old G4 dual processor and a large hard drive or 2 for pretty cheap. Of course, you might want to add some more memory, too... Here is a good example from Ebay(Look around, there are plenty out there!!):

http://cgi.ebay.com/Apple-Power-Mac-...QQcmdZViewItem