Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 08-16-2007, 09:06 PM

Default 002 / PT LE 7.3 errors driving me bonkers!

first post.. greetings!

so I've been a pro tools user for years now. have always loved the program. my current rig is a BLA 002 with a mac pro (g5 quad core xeon 6 gigs of ram) with a lot of external pres and two external converters (see below).

lately though, my system has seriously been bumming me out. the mods on it are great, it sounds lovely, but I keep on getting playback buffer errors, on pretty much every possible setting variation in prefs, and sometimes nothing but one audio file in a session.

things I've tried to do:

•every variation setting tried in prefs
•mac optimizations set
•re-install pro tools software
•cs updates
•re-install mac OS and pro tools software
•delete preferences, repair disk permissions
•ran the new utility tool
•swapped out firewire cable
•swapped out lightpipe cables (I clock my 002 adat to a rosetta 800 and a mytek stereo adc coming in spdf... wordclock sent by apogee rosetta into the mytek).

I was thinking it might have been the BLA mod I did, but I talked to the company and they said it sounded like a software issue. of course they would say that, but my friend came over to do a session in logic and the 002 didn't crash once with the same setup. we worked for hours on end... made me think the hardware unit is pretty stable.

so I'm just really bummed out 'cause after I did a whole OS reinstall today, I started a session which I thought would be my new beginning with pro tools LE, but then that dreaded error popped up five minutes into the session!