Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 09-17-2015, 05:44 PM

Default Pro Tools 12.2.0.152 Constantly Crashing

I am having huge problems with Pro Tools 12.2.0.152 since the latest update. Loading sessions takes longer, scrolling through sessions takes longer, and if I either let a loop play too long or scroll through a virtual instrument (such as Omnisphere or Trilian), Pro Tools will freeze, forcing me to do a "force quit." It has become virtually unusable for me.

I am a longtime Logic user, but I am brand new to Pro Tools (have only subscribed for a month or so), so this version 12 is the only Pro Tools version I have on my computer.

Below is the gear I'm working with. Please help if you can! Thanks in advance!

--

Computer:
MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2014)
OS X Yosemite 10.10.5
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7
16 GB RAM

External Drive for saving Sessions + Samples:
Western Digital My Book (3 TB, usb 3)

Interface:
Universal Audio Apollo Twin DUO
Old 09-17-2015, 10:07 PM

Default Re: Pro Tools 12.2.0.152 Constantly Crashing

Hi and Welcome to the Community

I can see one of the big issues here which is your WD my passport drive.

#1 For PT those are 100% death for PT
#2 If you need to have samples and record to the same drive it HAS to be a way better drive, minumum 7200rpm and no green powersaving drives or blue power saving crap.

I would get a new WDC Black or RED drive in a USB3 case and so it right.