Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-18-2001, 09:23 AM

Default Plugins vs. Outboard Gear

What kind of advice the knowledge of the board can give? I'm a total newbie in this area, I'm also a drummer who wants to build his own home studio soon.
I have plans to buy a Digi 001 very soon, as the 1st step of my future home studio. I know that 001 uses a LOT of processor power for the plug-ins (I have a G4 400 w/ 448 RAM) so, what about using external gear for reverbs, delays, etc... ? If I want to record 2 channels of guitar at the same time, and I want to add, reverb for example, I'll need two reverb processors (or one that have two channels, right?)? Or, if I need to use compressor on the snare and bass, I'll need a two channel compressor or two compressors at the same time... am I right? Or, If I'm recording a live performance, and I need 4 channels of compression?? Got my question?
So, if I plan to record a band, one instrument at a time, I can have one of each "processor", right? But if I plan recording the whole band at the same time, maybe plug-ins are the "cheaper" solution...
Well, I don't know if I made myself clear, but... thank you guys for your time anyway!

------------------
Think Diferente!
Old 01-18-2001, 09:49 AM

Default Re: Plugins vs. Outboard Gear