Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 06-19-2004, 10:05 AM

Default Folding 5.1 to Stereo

Hello all! Since I am a beginner in the 5.1 surround game........I was wondering if anyone could provide me with information and/or the steps involved to fold a 5.1 surround mix into a stereo mix! Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Many thanks!!
Chuck
Old 06-19-2004, 12:16 PM

Default Re: Folding 5.1 to Stereo

Quote:
Hello all! Since I am a beginner in the 5.1 surround game........I was wondering if anyone could provide me with information and/or the steps involved to fold a 5.1 surround mix into a stereo mix! Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Many thanks!!
Chuck
Chuck-

Here's what I suggest-

Make it an LtRt stereo compatible mix. To do this, youwill need a Dolby SEU4 or Dolby surround Tools ProTools Software and a TDM system.

A) L-C-R into the L-C-R inputs of the SEU4 or DST at unity gain.
B)Take your surrounds and sum them to mono at -0dB. (this means each surround channel is at -6dB) This then goes to the surround input of the SEU4 or DST.
C)Take your LFE and pull it down to -9dB. This signal then goes to the L-C-R inputs of the SEU4 or DST.

This is the standard Dolby folddown. You can alter it for sonic reasons if you wish, the most common way is to sum the surrounds at -3dB each.

If you don't have DST, you can download a demo from Digidesign that will work for 30days.

Hope this helps-

-Todd A.
Old 06-19-2004, 12:37 PM

Hi Todd. Hope you're doing well. Just curious, this is from the Dubly 5.1 production Guide. A little long, but note that they say "discarding the LFE".
_________
"There are many consumers who will listen to Dolby Digital sources such as DVD or