How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-05-2024, 08:08 AM

Default Pro Tools doesn't run (at all)

Dear Community,

I am completely new to Pro Tools and was about to check out the Trial. (I've been working with Ableton so far.) So i just downloaded Avid Link and installed Pro Tools via Avid Link. Now when i'm trying to open the Pro Tools, nothing happens (at all!!). The icon jumps up and then nothing. Not even an error notification occurs. I already uninstalled Pro Tools, reinstalled it, updated to Apple Sonoma 14.2.1. but it's still the same. I can't call the support because i don't have any support or serial/product number, since i just want to run the trial. It's been like this for two weeks now. Really weird - any help or hint would be great! Never had an issue like this before.
Thank you.

My macbook is MacBook Air 2020 M1
Old 01-05-2024, 09:33 AM

Default Re: Pro Tools doesn't run (at all)

Hi,
My suggestion is - try to get Pro Tools Intro:
https://my.avid.com/get/pro-tools-in...TkwMS4xNC4wLjA.
Old 01-05-2024, 11:02 AM

Hi welcome to DUC.

Trying Pro Tools Intro will likely be a waste of time since it is the exact same software/installer. If Pro Tools only bounces in the dock it is in the early stage of starting up, its not really got to licensing, and if there is a licensing problem it should throw an error.

You don’t see any part of a splash/startup screen appear?

Is your user account name is only one character long? There seems to be a bug where this seems to (ironically) break the Pro Tools crash reporting system, and well causes Pro Tools to crash. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ If so just skip to creating a new admin account with a longer name and try starting Pro Tools from that account.