Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-10-2020, 02:12 PM
Farhoof's Avatar
Farhoof Farhoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: EU
Posts: 317
Default Moving a fade will mess up your automation(!)

Running into a big issue here.

When automation is written to the full length of a clip, and you trim that clip (shorter or extend it), the automation moves along with the length of the clip along it's borders.
But when you put a fade in/fade out on the clip and you drag the fade (using the hand/smart tool), the automation does NOT follow anymore.

Steps to reproduce:

- Make sure 'automation follows edit' is turned on (default).
- Create a 1 minute pink noise clip.
- Trim it down to 30 seconds.
- Create a fade in and fade out.
- Select the clip, switch to volume view and drag the volume down of the entire clip.
- Switch back to waveform view and drag the fades outward with the hand tool to the original 1 minute length.

Before: the volume would be down the entire length or the clip because the automation would follow edit along the clips borders.
Now: the automation does not follow the edit when you drag a fade with the hand tool. It only does when trimming a clip using the trim tool (which is not preferred when working with fades).


This issue is present in PT Ultimate versions:
2021.3
2020.12
2020.11
2020.9.1
2020.5
2020.3
2019.12
2019.10

This issue is not present in PT Ultimate versions:
2019.6
and pretty much every single version before at least down to PT 6 TDM.


It is a major bug for me since it's not only volume automation, but also panning and insert automation. When cutting background tracks and panning them to the sides/surrounds, the panning now suddenly jumps front to back after I extended the clip a bit. Same goes for insert automation.

I'm starting to believe this is a 'feature' since it has been like this in the last 6 releases.

Is anyone else bothered by this or is this a lone crusade?


Mac OS 10.13.6, PT Ultimate 2020.11
Clean install, trashed prefs, etc etc.

Last edited by Farhoof; 03-31-2021 at 01:53 AM. Reason: added new versions to the list
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-11-2020, 11:52 AM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 549
Default Re: Automation doesn't follow edit anymore when moving a fade

+1

I hope there is something we're missing to make this work correctly again. Instead of it being a bug that never gets fixed.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-23-2020, 01:58 AM
Farhoof's Avatar
Farhoof Farhoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: EU
Posts: 317
Default Re: Automation doesn't follow edit anymore when moving a fade

Not fixed in PT 2020.12 either
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-30-2021, 11:40 AM
WinstonDeath WinstonDeath is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 23
Default Re: Automation doesn't follow edit anymore when moving a fade

Still not fixed in 2021.3, and now it's also broken when trimming a clip boundary with trim tool.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-18-2021, 09:26 AM
RobbaDobba RobbaDobba is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 298
Default Re: Automation doesn't follow edit anymore when moving a fade

Nor does it appear to be fixed in 2021.3.1, unless someone else can confirm I'm wrong.
__________________
One good thing about music: when it hits, you feel no pain. --Bob Marley

Rig: MacBook Pro (15,1) 6-Core i7 2.6GHz / 32GB RAM / OS 10.14.6 / PT 2020.12.1 / Waves Horizon v12 / iZotope Music Production Suite 4 / Focusrite Clarett 4pre / Mackie Baby HUI / Apple SSD AP1024M 1 TB (System), Samsung T5 SSD 1 TB (Audio) / Cal-Digit TS3 Plus TB3 Dock / Genelec 1030A Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-23-2021, 11:19 PM
matt.t matt.t is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3
Default Re: Automation doesn't follow edit anymore when moving a fade

Yeah I've found this issue too.. super annoying.

I have a tiny hack fix that kind of works for me - you can extend out the clip leaving the fade on, as long as you use the trim tool (square bracket [ symbol) and trim from just inside the region in front of the fade. So don't grab the fade with the hand tool, but extend with the trim if that makes sense..

So if you have a fade up, you need to trim from the right side of the fade up. And vice versa with fade down.

It seems to catch the automation that way and extend it out. Not ideal but better than nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-25-2021, 07:41 AM
Farhoof's Avatar
Farhoof Farhoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: EU
Posts: 317
Default Re: Automation doesn't follow edit anymore when moving a fade

Not fixed in 2021.6, just confirmed it myself.

I'm considering ditching fades altogether but auto fade in/out only goes up to 10msec. Maybe just roll with it and see if QC reports anything.

I don't see this being fixed anymore, too few complaints.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-25-2021, 08:18 AM
RobbaDobba RobbaDobba is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 298
Default Re: Automation doesn't follow edit anymore when moving a fade

Quote:
Originally Posted by farhoof View Post
not fixed in 2021.6, just confirmed it myself.

I'm considering ditching fades altogether but auto fade in/out only goes up to 10msec. Maybe just roll with it and see if qc reports anything.

I don't see this being fixed anymore, too few complaints.
this is madness already!
__________________
One good thing about music: when it hits, you feel no pain. --Bob Marley

Rig: MacBook Pro (15,1) 6-Core i7 2.6GHz / 32GB RAM / OS 10.14.6 / PT 2020.12.1 / Waves Horizon v12 / iZotope Music Production Suite 4 / Focusrite Clarett 4pre / Mackie Baby HUI / Apple SSD AP1024M 1 TB (System), Samsung T5 SSD 1 TB (Audio) / Cal-Digit TS3 Plus TB3 Dock / Genelec 1030A Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-01-2021, 07:30 PM
matt.t matt.t is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3
Default Re: Automation doesn't follow edit anymore when moving a fade

Hey guys. I was searching the internet trying to see if I was the only one experiencing this issue. Glad I found this post.

I've got a slight work-around. It's still not perfect but it helps.

You have to make sure you extend/trim clips using the "Trimmer Tool". If you have the smart tool activated, you can hover up the top inside edge of the fade and extend the clip that way.

Below is before the extension. Make sure the ] symbol shows up in the top corner.
AFE Trimmer Tool 1.Before.jpg


Then extend/reduce the fade and the automation follows.
AFE Trimmer Tool 2.After.jpg

Like I said, it's not ideal, but it's a good work around for the time being.

I've just submitted a support ticket with AVID. Will update you once I've chatted with them.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-04-2021, 08:21 PM
matt.t matt.t is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3
Default Re: Automation doesn't follow edit anymore when moving a fade

So further to my last post I have heard back from AVID today. They have said the below:

This issue is related to the Automation is not following edit in "Shuffle Mode" issue that is currently being investigated by our engineering team. Thank you for reporting the issue. I've submitted your case information to Engineering to assist with their research in the matter.


For your reference, the defect/bug number is PT-269825.


There is currently no estimated time for a possible resolution but if we have an update in the near future we will pass that along to you.
So I guess at least they are aware of it. But not real timeline on how long it will take to get it fixed. If I hear from them, I'll let you all know.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automation doesn't follow fade adjustment. nickosound Pro Tools 2020 16 01-22-2021 03:23 AM
Automation does not follow edit Moviesound macOS 0 07-20-2012 04:28 AM
BUG: automation doesn´t follow Frank Kruse Post - Surround - Video 79 01-07-2012 11:59 AM
Automation Does NOT Follow Edit cubivore Post - Surround - Video 5 10-21-2008 09:26 AM
aux won't follow master fade automation 001fran 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-29-2002 01:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com