Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 11-30-2011, 09:50 PM

Default Drum Overhead Mics

Hello,

I've been dialing in the sound for recording drums for a couple years now, and everything seems to sound great, (to me at least!) however, the only issue I can't seem to work out is my overhead mic situation. Maybe it's because I have a pair of cheap Cad condenser mics, but nonetheless, the end result is a muddy washy overpowering crash cymbal sound. They also overpower my other mics, (the cymbals). I've worked on gating, all types of compression, -20dB pads, and everything else I can think of. I listen to so many albums and ponder how the drums come through so strongly, but the cymbals are nice and full, (not overpowering) in the background.

Does anyone recommend McDSP Analog Channel? Will tape saturation help this situation?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Justin Pitlik
Pro Tools 10, 003 Rack, NI Maschine
www.youtube.com/firsty33
Old 12-01-2011, 02:11 AM

Default Re: Drum Overhead Mics

Try some Ribbon Mics
Old 12-01-2011, 11:10 AM