Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-25-2012, 01:51 AM

Default Bussing and Routing Advice please

As part of my job as a video editor I have been using ProTools for mixing and editing tv commercials for over 5 years now, and because i am largely self-taught I have always been aware of a large gap in my knowledge, in particular to do with routing and signal bussing.

I have never worked on a large console, so don't have the analogue experience to transfer over.

Having just upgraded my Pro Tools to 10. And whilst i have a little quiet time, I wanted to try expand on my knowledge and get to grips with bussing.

So - can anyone recommend any good articles/books/videos, etc. that will help me to understand how better to set-up my tracks and routings in my mixes.

thanks
Adam
Old 04-25-2012, 03:28 AM

Get hold of some templates. Look at the stock digi one for post mixing, that will give you some clues

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Audio Consultant, Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer & Journalist

BAFTA member
IPS member

----------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Old 04-25-2012, 08:14 AM

Default Re: Bussing and Routing Advice please

thanks Mikerophonics - I have already been doing that - it's that which prompted the questions in the first place! Also been reading the manual which has helped a lot.

In fact i had just written a much longer reply highlighting some of my confusion but the simple act of writing out the problem seemed to present the solution!

Still, if anyone does have any other recommendations for extra learning i would be very grateful.

adam
Old 04-25-2012, 08:25 AM