Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-19-2024, 10:11 AM

Default Anyone good fixing Pops and Clicks - (I'm not a beginner user)

I have a Native card setup with two HD IOs. I recently switched back from a hybrid system of a Waves DLS with the HD IOs back to a true Native card setup with the pci avid hd native card and the two HD IOs. I use Studio one mostly but also use Cubase. They both have the same pops and clicks issue so it's not a specific DAW problem.

I get pops and clicks during recording and even when not playing (but record monitoring). Im currently testing with one mic to things simple. I'm on a 64 buffer and my pc is screaming fast (current year i7 and 64gb ram). My test projects are empty. No VSTs or plugins. Pops and clicks are intermittent and happen anywhere between 5 seconds apart and two minutes apart. Very frustrating. I've uninstalled and reinstalled both DAWS to no avail. Anyone experience this and have any ideas?

Additional Info - I tried to open Digitest and an error message came up. I can still record with the pops and clicks as mentioned, but Digitest currently does not open. It used to. The error code reads "cannot get digidaidevice for dsiDeviceindex = 0"

Last edited by JBQIII; 01-19-2024 at 11:17 AM. Reason: Added info
Old 01-19-2024, 10:21 AM

Default Re: Anyone good fixing Pops and Clicks - (I'm not a beginner user)

Sounds ike a clocking problem. How have you wired them and is there by any chance any sampling rate mismatch anywhere?
Old 01-19-2024, 11:30 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Sounds ike a clocking problem. How have you wired them and is there by any chance any sampling rate mismatch anywhere?