How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 11-04-2012, 04:21 AM

Default Which Audio interface for an Imac & Low latency question

Hello there,

I switch from PC to Mac a few weeks ago, now I will need a new external audio interface for the Imac,

so as I'm looking into getting Pro tools too, I was wondering what latency (for playing virtual intruments in real time) could I get with non avid / m-audio, like maybe Echoaudio Fire4, Focusrite Pro14 or TC Electronic Desktop Konnekt 6 or Impact Twin,

I always heard that FW interface was better & more reliable than USB, but I don't now if this is stil the case, please let me know your experience with IO card in that price range (200 to 300 € or $) & PT10 with Mac OSX Lion.

As I'm completely new to PT, should I be aware of specific things regarding how monitoring is handled, I'm used to do direct monitoring with other DAW, is this ok with PT10 (native version) ?
Old 11-04-2012, 07:21 AM

Default Re: Which Audio interface for an Imac

I've been searching & reading some review and it seems that, for audio monitoring, if one is using an interface with core audio driver (non Mbox or other avid ...), you won't benefit from "Low Latency Monitoring mode",

is this still the case with PT10, the review was about PT9, here's the link :
http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/jan1...ro-tools-9.htm

Chapter : Monitor Matters
Old 11-04-2012, 07:38 AM

Default Re: Which Audio interface for an Imac & Low latency question

Being reading a review about PT9 explaining some "Low Latency Monitoring mode" option not being available for non avid I/O, is this still the case with PT10 ?

here's the link of the review from SOS (chapter Monitor Matters):
http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/jan1...ools-9.htm#Top