Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 05-14-2008, 05:59 PM

Default What is BEST Drum kits and Synth/Piano plug ins........

I am looking for the best "out of the box" drum plug in and also one for synth and piano....

For drums, I would like amazing acoustic as well as electronic kits, ability to easily sequence, etc....I don't want to have to fiddle and build..........same for the keys....

But an M1 Korg type of plug in would be great.....polyphonic of course........

Thanks...

CW
Old 05-14-2008, 07:25 PM

Default Re: What is BEST Drum kits and Synth/Piano plug ins........

Charles:

I just replied to your post about PC vs. Mac as well. So you'll know already that I am NOT a PT expert - and I'm actually a complete noob to computer based recording. But as I mentioned earlier I do "overanalyze" all this stuff. I have listened to all kinds of software because I wanted to have really good drums and a really good piano.

You will get all kinds of answers, based on each persons own ear and preferences. But from my research here is what I have found.

Drums:

I wanted something eazy but realistic and I didn't want to have to spend weeks learning to program etc. I first thought I wanted BFD - then I got turned on to EZDrummer. I have watched all kinds of demos on YouTube as well as getting a couple demos at different stores. It really sounds great and from what I have seen it is VERy easy to learn to use. You can build up the kits to your liking by adding extra modules to the base EZdrummer software. Just give it a listen and check some stuff out - I think you will like it.

Piano:

By far the best thing out there I have heard is Ivory by Synthogy. However, I didn't choose it.