Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-09-2006, 05:43 PM
mixboy bob mixboy bob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 569
Default Velocity sensitive vs fixed mode encoders.

Which mode are you guys running? I'd like to use velocity, but it jumps all over the place - completely unusable. Is there something wrong with my PC or is this what others are finding also? I've had the PC for 4 years, and it doesn't seem like this has always been an issue. Maybe the power supply or encoders are going.

I dunno...Any feedback would be helpful.

BTW, it's not plug specific. It's all plugs, and happened on my G4 and now the G5 as well.

Thanks for your thoughs everyone!

peace

rob burrell
__________________
http://www.robburrell.com

PTHD Ultimate/Eucon (latest betas) / Mac Studio Ultra 128GB RAM / Aja T-Tap / Sonnet M.2 4x4 PCIe 8TB / Focusrite 16Line / MTRX Studio / UAD Octo / 32 channel S1 & Dock (5) 2019 Fire HD 10 / Dolby Atmos 9.1.4 /Mastering Suite / 13.0 Sony 360RA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-11-2006, 06:47 AM
trakbytes trakbytes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles CA USA
Posts: 848
Default Re: Velocity sensitive vs fixed mode encoders.

I always used fixed mode. Velocity has always been too unpredictable. You can get finer adjustments in velocity mode, but I just hold the command key in fixed mode when I need this. I doubt there is anything wrong with your PC, but you can test the rotary encoders in the utility section to see if they behave smoothly.

Bob
__________________
Save early and often! (or once a day whether you need to or not...)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-11-2006, 08:50 AM
mixboy bob mixboy bob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 569
Default Re: Velocity sensitive vs fixed mode encoders.

Bob!

Thanks so much - what an idiot I am to have forgotten about the command key. Too bad velocity isn't stable, but this gets me exactly what I need to make things happy. I'd like to milk the ol' PC as long as possible - 'til my wallet can handle a D-Command, anyway!

peace

rob burrell
__________________
http://www.robburrell.com

PTHD Ultimate/Eucon (latest betas) / Mac Studio Ultra 128GB RAM / Aja T-Tap / Sonnet M.2 4x4 PCIe 8TB / Focusrite 16Line / MTRX Studio / UAD Octo / 32 channel S1 & Dock (5) 2019 Fire HD 10 / Dolby Atmos 9.1.4 /Mastering Suite / 13.0 Sony 360RA
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-08-2006, 02:32 PM
Riccardo Corbari Riccardo Corbari is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 212
Default Re: Velocity sensitive vs fixed mode encoders.

where do you set the mode? i can't find it, thanks
__________________
Studio Fuoriporta - Italy... verily everywhere...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-08-2006, 04:19 PM
Soundtrack Soundtrack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 145
Default Re: Velocity sensitive vs fixed mode encoders.

T o toggle the DSP Edit Assign knobs between fixed and velocity sensitive modes:

Press Option(Alt) + F3 on ProControl
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10 & Velocity Sensitive Keyboards ianbee Pro Tools 10 5 12-17-2012 09:07 AM
Moving from pencil tool to velocity mode Steve@ZooWest MIDI 2 08-16-2010 07:35 AM
Are the rotary encoders touch-sensitive... Stig Eliassen ICON & C|24 2 07-31-2008 08:53 AM
Wanted: Global switch mode for encoders. Drew Mazurek ICON & C|24 3 01-23-2008 12:46 PM
Difference between motion sensitive and touch sensitive faders? bp78 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 07-03-2002 09:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com