Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 11-25-2011, 06:51 AM

Default chaning buffers between recording/mixing

I am a musician doing home recording, mostly 2-3 channels at a time. I have been using the 003 and when I started I learned to set the buffer low when recording and high when mixing. This is pretty easy to do in Pro Tools with the 003 and I go back and forth a lot, as within the same song I'll do some mixing, decide to add instruments or back up vocals, more mixing, re-do tracks I don't like, etc. I know this is not the workflow of a standard studio where generally you would record everything, edit, then mix and master once everything is done, but it is just not the way I work and hasn't gotten in my way with the 003.

I tried out a TC Impact Twin a few weeks ago and I loved the sound quality compared to the 003, but h/w buffer had to be changed in the control panel, not in Pro Tools. It gave me a lot of issues when I tried to go back and forth, re-starts, crashes, etc. The guy at the store says he never heard that you need to change buffers, that once you get a setting you stick with it whether you're recording or mixing. Is this true, even if you are using heavy-duty plugins? I am using Windows 7 64 bit with 8 GB ram, Intel I5, Pro Tools 10.