Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 08-25-2003, 07:59 PM

Default Help needed,,,,

Thanks for taking your time to read this post!!

I have been making hip hop beats for over 5 years now with just a Korg Triton and a pair of monitors. It just so happens that I got blessed with some very artistic rappers, but I cant lay a song down on the Triton... so I went out and got me PT LE 6.1. I have no experence at all with all this.. All I know how to do is make a beat.. BUT I really want to know all the steps that are taken, so i can start making descent recordings. Im hearing all this stuff about sub mixes and final mixes and all sorts of stuff.. It's a bit overwhelming but hey' so was the Korg Triton! So if anyone can help me understand all these steps or give me some names of books to read or anything it'll mean so much to me.. Thank You Again
OWC Mercury Elite 120GB Hard Drive
M-Box PT 6.1.2
Korg Triton
MidiSport 1x1
Event TR8 Powered Monitors
Old 08-26-2003, 04:59 PM

Default Re: Help needed,,,,

Man, if you're hoping for someone to give you all the pointers right here. . . . you're asking a LOT! The good news is that your not out of luck. My advice would be to get the "Recording With Pro Tools" book, at least I believe that's the name. I've read quite a few favorable reports about it right here on the DUC. So try a search for that.