Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 06-30-2013, 08:31 PM

Default New User... Should I upgrade or wait???

I am a new Pro Tools user. I purchased Mbox 3 pro with Pro Tools 10 and a free upgrade to Pro Tools 11. I am also a Avid Media Composer user (about to upgrade to 7.0) I like everything I se so far.

I was excited to upgrade to 11.0 and am a little concerned as I'm reading topics on the forum so I figured I'd ask before executing the upgrade process.

It seems may people are saying you should leave 10.6 installed and co-install 11.1 to run both at the same time. Why would you want to do this? Is there a need for 2 different versions of the same DAW?

Will my plugins and VI's not work in 11.0?

Will Media Composer 7 play nicely with Pro Tools 11?

If I wait until the bugs are fixed will I loose my free upgrade?

On the downloads screen... are the Big Fish loops the same on version 10? Is Avid Virtual instruments the same as well?

Whew... I know this is a lot of questions but please help the new guy out if you can.

Thanks,
Ryan
Old 06-30-2013, 08:48 PM

Default Re: New User... Should I upgrade or wait???

Quote:
Originally Posted by RMCasey View Post
Why would you want to do this?
To see a session run out of available voices before running out of processing power or available memory at a 32 sample buffer size. .
Quote:
Of course they will, once they've been released in the 64-bit AAX format.
Quote:
Why shouldn't it?
Quote:
No, but it's not bug fixes we're waiting on. It's 3rd party plugins that are the hang-up at the moment.
Quote:
On the downloads screen... are the Big Fish loops the same on version 10? Is Avid Virtual instruments the same as well?