Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 02-28-2006, 01:29 PM

Default University Studio help!

Hey, I'm a manager at the Music Department studio at Millersville University. I took the job last semester hoping to get some time behind the wheel of a decent Pro-Tools system.

Hah. We're an education school, so it figures I'd find a PowerMac G4 running OS9.3 and ProTools 5.3TDM. I have the discs for OS X, but we also don't have any registration codes for ProTools. Anybody have any suggestions? Is there any way to get to 6.0 at least without registration codes? How do I upgrade to some remotely OS X compatible version that was conceived in the past 4 years without having to beg for money from the department? Does Digidesign offer education discounts, and would a 7.0 upgrade work on our antiquated 5.3 system? If all these answers are obviously printed out somewhere in the plethora of support pages, let me know.

Oh, and does anybody have a decent mixer to donate to a poor university studio? We're using a busted yamaha rm800. Sad.

thanks

-Paul
CRIS Manager
Old 02-28-2006, 03:22 PM

Default Re: University Studio help!

First of all, post some of your system details so we can help you out better. What PT system, cards, and interfaces do you have? What model G4 do you have?

I will assume that you have something earlier than an HD system since you are using 5.3. If that is the case, then Pro Tools 7 is not compatible with your system. Take a good hard look at the Compatibility pages linked above at the top of this page.