Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 08-04-2009, 04:23 PM

Default Pro-Tools Won't Record MIDI

Hello All,

I can't seem to record any MIDI tracks.

ABOUT ME:
I'm pretty new to Pro-tools, although I've worked with Cakewalk Pro Audio and Sibelius and I understand MIDI vs. Audio, ins and outs, etc.

I've done some audio recording in Pro-tools with no problems. MIDI in pro-tools has confounded me from Day One.

SYMPTOMS:
I can hear the drums in Redrum, BFD, and the instrument sounds from Sampletank, and their audio levels register (those fountains of green) on their respective faders. They simply will not record. I can "pencil-in" midi notes using the Pro-tools pencil tool, but that's the only I can get midi data into Pro-tools. I have never seen midi data register in a midi track, and again, have never been able to record midi in pro-tools.

MY GEAR:
PC: Toshiba Satellite A105S4335
XP Media Center Edition 2005
Duo Core Processor T5200
2GB RAM
160GB HDD
5400 rpm

MBOX2
Pro-tools LE v7.1
Chirp Virtual MIDI Keyboard Controller

(I understand that an external HDD is essential for serious Pro-tools recording, and I do have one, but it has nothing to do with this issue.)

I have a Novation x-25 kb which I've learned is not easy to set up as a controller in pro-tools, so I decided to keep things simple for the time being, and try to get MIDI working without a controller altogether. Reason should record in Protools without a controller KB, but it doesn't. (FYI, Sampletank's KB, I recently learned from IKMultimedia, has no MIDI capability.)