Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 07-03-2015, 01:29 AM

Default Hear yourself while recording?

Hello all, I am a beginner to the world of audio and Pro Tooks so forgive me if this is a dumb question with a simple answer. I am using Pro Tools 11 with an Mbox solo, how do I set it up so I can hear myself while I am recording? Also how can I set it up so I can hear myself with an effect while I'm recording (like Autotune or reverb). And preferably with as little to no latency as possible.

Thanks, and try not to be too harsh on me with crazy audio terms as I'm a beginner and might get confused, lol.
Old 07-03-2015, 05:40 AM

Default Re: Hear yourself while recording?

I would start by researching studio monitors. You can find a reasonably priced pair for under 200 bucks. I have a fast track solo so they may or may not be similar. You can set up your system to use your interface as your sound output so all your computer audio will go through your monitors. I'm on my iphone right now but when I'm at my mac i'll pm you some links with resources that might answer your questions. I'm sure others can chime in if they think their might be a better fit. It's not difficult just a little complicated. I'm sure you'll get it.
Intel HD Graphics 5000 1536 MB

Avid Fast Track Pro
Pro Tools 12.0.0
Old 07-03-2015, 08:41 AM