Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 06-20-2011, 11:09 AM

Default Opening Venue.. use Venue?

I've been ghosting the forums for a very long time. Never needed to post really because everything has pretty much been asked and answered twice. Now im looking for advice more than having questions.

I and about 5 other friends have taken interest in opening a small-mid size venue. Im really the only one with any audio knowledge which is okay. We all have different roles really for business wise. I am an audio engineer like the many people on here. However I mainly just use equipment and really dont know much about it. Ive majored in audio so I do know things, but, Venue is new to me.

Im interested in the SC48. The price seems high, but choosing an ICON Dcommand, it seems id have to pay another 10k for another set of sliders. While the SC48 is usually around 15k? or no? I would prefer to start with refurbished equipment because its cheaper and usually will work better than new because its been looked at a lot.

We only plan on the FOH mixer board. Dont need anymore since im only looking to fit like 500 tops

But basically i need the pro's help deciding what the best options are for my needs.

For starts im looking at the SC48 so i can record live into pro tools. I Was looking at speakers and there are so frickin many out there i got lost.. But the bose III deluxe package they have really caught my eye. its around 6k for 4 powered subs and 4 of the Bose III loudspeakers. I was hoping this would help keep a clean look, yet be powerful enough to blow the doors off (not really lol) but you know what i mean. I Always choose quality over quantity.