Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-18-2002, 12:54 PM
guisquil guisquil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 47
Default Mbox, Logic 5.3 Direct I|O recording behind 1 beat?

After recording in Logic 5.3 an audio track using the Direct I/O driver, the recorded audio is not in sync with the rest of the tracks, it prints and plays about one beat behind?

If I use the ASIO driver from Steinberg It works fine, but I get no way to control Mbox latency in Logic?

Setup:
PB G3 (FireWire), 384 RAM, Mbox Rev20,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-18-2002, 06:19 PM
supaheef supaheef is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 24
Default Re: Mbox, Logic 5.3 Direct I|O recording behind 1 beat?

hi,

i'm considering a setup not disimilar to yours, as you can pick up a pismo for less than a used ibook. what sort of latency (approx) are you getting with the steinberg asio driver? are you able to play vsti's in realtime?

you should check out the propagamma asio driver, as this has the potential to give low latencies, and control over buffer settings. you have to pay for it, but some have had great results. get the demo at www.usb-audio.com
__________________
iBook 600, 640mb RAM, and a big smile on my face...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-18-2002, 06:27 PM
Kickin.da.speaker Kickin.da.speaker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 2,081
Default Re: Mbox, Logic 5.3 Direct I|O recording behind 1 beat?

I suggest my forum, http://f23.parsimony.net/forum49865/ , for further help.

In Logic, in Audio>Audio Hardware and Drivers, under Direct i/o, you shoud have a buffer setting. That's what controls the latency.
__________________
David.

6am eternal
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-18-2002, 09:09 PM
guisquil guisquil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 47
Default Re: Mbox, Logic 5.3 Direct I|O recording behind 1 beat?

Me again, what I meant was "it prints and plays about one beat ahead" if I record an audio count with my voice counting "one, two, etc", when I play it back the audio count starts with two, so you hear two, three, four corresponding to the one, two, three of Logic Internal Click..... I hope I'm making sence
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-20-2002, 07:42 AM
PGrealy PGrealy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 43
Default Re: Mbox, Logic 5.3 Direct I|O recording behind 1 beat?

Hi

I too have eaxctly the same problem as you in logic.

I have the Programma asio driver and there is not a problem with the delay but there is much faffing around with switching to the asio driver (rebooting the Mac). I have tried everything to get the Direct I/O driver to work but to no avail.

Conclusion : Mbox used with Logic is a waste of time. ( I am sad to say)
__________________
PFG
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-20-2002, 03:52 PM
guisquil guisquil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 47
Default Re: Mbox, Logic 5.3 Direct I|O recording behind 1 beat?

I bought the Propagamma ASIO Driver, and now I'm getting a lot better results
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-21-2002, 02:35 AM
captain54 captain54 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Chicago, Il 60805
Posts: 210
Default Re: Mbox, Logic 5.3 Direct I|O recording behind 1 beat?

same problem here too...large delay when
recording audio...so Direct i/o and Logic is a total bust???
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-18-2002, 08:06 AM
Billy MF T Billy MF T is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 10
Default Re: Mbox, Logic 5.3 Direct I|O recording behind 1 beat?

dang [img]images/icons/frown.gif[/img]

don't have much to offer to this thread I'm afraid but I'm also have the same prob so I just wanted to subscribe [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Guitar Direct Plug in to Mbox Recording Simba 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 05-16-2010 12:11 AM
direct recording , line 6 or direct box? dannypassenger General Discussion 3 01-12-2005 08:17 PM
Mbox, Logic 5.5, Direct I/O, PTLE ??? How? dleted 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-20-2003 06:21 AM
Recording direct to firewire w/Mbox pongky 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-14-2002 08:40 AM
What's the best BASS direct box direct to PT recording dw Tips & Tricks 18 05-13-2000 09:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com