Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-03-2016, 12:44 PM
sellout sellout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default Avid Video Engine Was Unable To Stop - is this an on going joke?

Since PT5.0, it use to be you drop an mov in and you get to work.

So do I understand correctly, that avid no longer wants us to be able to execute work that requires video on protools?

Why does it suck now, after working near perfect for so many years?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-03-2016, 01:24 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,526
Default Re: Avid Video Engine Was Unable To Stop - is this an on going joke?

Video is working fine for me in 12.5.2. What type of mov are you importing?
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools HD 2020.12.0
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-03-2016, 01:30 PM
sellout sellout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: Avid Video Engine Was Unable To Stop - is this an on going joke?

I have been using the recommend codecs on avid site.

DNxHD (Preferred)
Apple ProRes 422 (including HQ, LT and Proxy) - did not use this one.
DV25
DV50
H.264 (Performance may vary)


I will try out 12.5.2
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-04-2016, 06:49 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,768
Default Re: Avid Video Engine Was Unable To Stop - is this an on going joke?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sellout View Post
Since PT5.0, it use to be you drop an mov in and you get to work.

So do I understand correctly, that avid no longer wants us to be able to execute work that requires video on protools?

Why does it suck now, after working near perfect for so many years?
Video Engine .. i have not had any issues with videos playing but i have with the video engine starting up .. it can be very slow ..

i have used H.264, Pro Res LT with no issues once the AVE is running .. there have been some video issues for a bit now but they seem to be getting resolved a little at a time ..
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-04-2016, 08:33 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,926
Default Re: Avid Video Engine Was Unable To Stop - is this an on going joke?

How about some more info about your rig, software versions, etc? No way to help without knowing more. If you're on 12.5, and you're having issues it's unlikely that 12.5.2 will fix it - more likely something else dicey in your configuration.

No issues here.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.14, PT 2021.3 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24, 3xS1/Dock.
Also running a 2013 nMP / HDX / S6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-04-2016, 02:16 PM
TrentWilliams TrentWilliams is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 875
Default Re: Avid Video Engine Was Unable To Stop - is this an on going joke?

Tips for a problem free video session.

- Use DNxHD, or DNxHR codecs at 8bit
- Display video track in 'blocks'
- Use right click on the video window to select your predefined sizes. (Don't use free scale to make the window bigger or smaller).
- Make sure you have selected 'best performance', and 'lowest quality' in the video track settings.

If you follow these, I promise you, you will have almost no video engine troubles.
__________________
Pro Tools 2021.3|Ultimate • UAD Apollo 8, UAD Octo+Quad Satellite, UAD Apollo Twin Quad Core Mac Mini 2018 - 3.2GHz i7 6-core macOS 10.15.7 • RAM 64GB DDR4 GPU AMD 5700XT 8GB • Monitor LG 32UL950-W
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-04-2016, 07:47 PM
Led Led is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 326
Default Re: Avid Video Engine Was Unable To Stop - is this an on going joke?

Looping very short sections with video can cause this to happen too.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-05-2016, 01:53 AM
soybalm soybalm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 617
Default Re: Avid Video Engine Was Unable To Stop - is this an on going joke?

It stopped here too, but lowering the resolution helped immensely. 12.5.2 PT 10 works flawlessly on all resolutions.
__________________
Dave Cournoyer-guitarist-project studio
Mac Mini late 2012, i7, Sierra
16GB PT10.3.10HD PT12.5.2
Apogee Mini-Me firewire.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"The avid video engine was unable to stop" error hbadger30 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 20 10-01-2019 03:51 AM
Avid Video Engine Was Unable To Stop EdwardG Pro Tools 12 11 07-27-2016 06:26 AM
AVID Video Engine unable to stop 12.5 mattrixx Pro Tools 12 8 06-17-2016 01:32 PM
Video Engine is a joke!!!!!! nayrbnoswal Post - Surround - Video 31 05-11-2015 03:46 AM
Video engine keeps playing after I stop Schottlandru Windows 0 09-22-2014 03:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com