Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-12-2009, 07:29 PM
mgarzag mgarzag is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 27
Default Hard drive.. internal or external?

I have a macbook (2.4.. 4GB) and using pro tools m-audio

it's been working "fine".. sometimes i get the CPU overload with not many tracks, specially when using plug ins like eleven or ez drummer..

i read that is better to have all your audio files in an external hardrive, and let the internal handle the application... so when you playback.. is from the external hardrive

I've started to use more tracks.. and sometimes it wont support the plug ins so i have to print to audio the midi tracks... so I don't how many tracks can my external hardrive firewire 400 can handle..

Ultimately.. i end up with a session of 20+ audio trackas before mixing.. then i add eqs, compressors, gates, reverb if needed..

my question is... can an external hardrive handle 20+ audio tracks? or should i get another internal hardrive... so transfer time will be faster..

on the other side.. if thinking of buying one of the new imacs, they look nice... but i don't know if the firewire 800 port will support playback for 20+ audio tracks... also, the new imac doesn't come with sata, so fw 800 is my only choice

any comments? suggestions?
thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-2009, 08:13 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,690
Default Re: Hard drive.. internal or external?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgarzag View Post
I have a macbook (2.4.. 4GB) and using pro tools m-audio

it's been working "fine".. sometimes i get the CPU overload with not many tracks, specially when using plug ins like eleven or ez drummer..

i read that is better to have all your audio files in an external hardrive, and let the internal handle the application... so when you playback.. is from the external hardrive

I've started to use more tracks.. and sometimes it wont support the plug ins so i have to print to audio the midi tracks... so I don't how many tracks can my external hardrive firewire 400 can handle..

Ultimately.. i end up with a session of 20+ audio trackas before mixing.. then i add eqs, compressors, gates, reverb if needed..

my question is... can an external hardrive handle 20+ audio tracks? or should i get another internal hardrive... so transfer time will be faster..

on the other side.. if thinking of buying one of the new imacs, they look nice... but i don't know if the firewire 800 port will support playback for 20+ audio tracks... also, the new imac doesn't come with sata, so fw 800 is my only choice

any comments? suggestions?
thanks in advance
Don't buy a new Imac till Snowleopard is certified by digi, I have a Imac 1.83 duo / 2gigs ram, running fine, (((YOU MUST)) get an external drive!!!!! it will fly
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-12-2009, 08:20 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,690
Default Re: Hard drive.. internal or external?

I don't think you can put another internal drive in your Macbook?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-12-2009, 08:51 PM
JohnPaul Grim JohnPaul Grim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 24
Default Re: Hard drive.. internal or external?

thats not true!

i have s.l. and migrated my protools 8 over from my old g5 and it works PERFECTLY.

the amount of tracks you can use in protools are mostly determined by the size of the external hard drive you get,
so go big or go home
for for a 1tb external!
make sure that it spins at 7200 rpms
and has an oxford chipset.

glyph externals are the best for recording in my opinion.
__________________
iMac 27inch
2.8 GHz Intel Quadcore i7
8GB 1067 MHz DDR3
2TB internal Memory
2Glyph external hard drives
003 Rack
Pro Tools LE 8
Logic 8 & 9
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-12-2009, 08:52 PM
JohnPaul Grim JohnPaul Grim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 24
Default Re: Hard drive.. internal or external?

oh yeah to original poster go with a new imac! i got the 27inch i7 quadcore and everything runs like a DREAM, if you have any other questions regarding it let me know man
__________________
iMac 27inch
2.8 GHz Intel Quadcore i7
8GB 1067 MHz DDR3
2TB internal Memory
2Glyph external hard drives
003 Rack
Pro Tools LE 8
Logic 8 & 9
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-12-2009, 09:12 PM
mgarzag mgarzag is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 27
Default Re: Hard drive.. internal or external?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnPaul Grim View Post
oh yeah to original poster go with a new imac! i got the 27inch i7 quadcore and everything runs like a DREAM, if you have any other questions regarding it let me know man
I thought of it, but im not quite sure.. maybe the "cheap" solution works

http://www.mcetech.com/optibay/

but then there's the ram issue.. i thought of eleven rack to have the plug in outside the computer.. as for midi (kontakt, ez drummer, reason) i was thinking of printing to audio if my cpu meter start to crank up.. and the last concern is the playback for audio tracks

couple weeks ago.. had my friend over.. we plugged in to the profire 610.. guitar and bass.. guitar eleven plug in, bass straight in.. then i added the ez drummer plug in.. after, had to increase buffer size and deal with latency... only 3 tracks is all it took
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-12-2009, 09:17 PM
mgarzag mgarzag is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 27
Default Re: Hard drive.. internal or external?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnPaul Grim View Post
thats not true!

i have s.l. and migrated my protools 8 over from my old g5 and it works PERFECTLY.

the amount of tracks you can use in protools are mostly determined by the size of the external hard drive you get,
so go big or go home
for for a 1tb external!
make sure that it spins at 7200 rpms
and has an oxford chipset.

glyph externals are the best for recording in my opinion.
Im looking at the glyph externals drives right now... but correct if im wrong.. i should not expect the best perfomance if connecting via fw400 instead of 800 or even esata... my macbook has the 400.. that's why i thought of the optibay solution
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-12-2009, 09:44 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Hard drive.. internal or external?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnPaul Grim View Post
thats not true!

i have s.l. and migrated my protools 8 over from my old g5 and it works PERFECTLY.

the amount of tracks you can use in protools are mostly determined by the size of the external hard drive you get,
so go big or go home
for for a 1tb external!
make sure that it spins at 7200 rpms
and has an oxford chipset.

glyph externals are the best for recording in my opinion.
Good for you. But you are offering some bad advice..

Snow Leopard IS NOT fully qualified with ProTools yet. Are you going to have solutions for the OP if he buys it and it doesn't work?

The number of tracks you can have in a ProTools session HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE capacity of the HD you are using

Yes on 7200 rpm and the correct oxford chipset..
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-13-2009, 08:56 AM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,690
Default Re: Hard drive.. internal or external?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgarzag View Post
I have a macbook (2.4.. 4GB) and using pro tools m-audio

it's been working "fine".. sometimes i get the CPU overload with not many tracks, specially when using plug ins like eleven or ez drummer..

i read that is better to have all your audio files in an external hardrive, and let the internal handle the application... so when you playback.. is from the external hardrive

I've started to use more tracks.. and sometimes it wont support the plug ins so i have to print to audio the midi tracks... so I don't how many tracks can my external hardrive firewire 400 can handle..

Ultimately.. i end up with a session of 20+ audio trackas before mixing.. then i add eqs, compressors, gates, reverb if needed..

my question is... can an external hardrive handle 20+ audio tracks? or should i get another internal hardrive... so transfer time will be faster..

on the other side.. if thinking of buying one of the new imacs, they look nice... but i don't know if the firewire 800 port will support playback for 20+ audio tracks... also, the new imac doesn't come with sata, so fw 800 is my only choice

any comments? suggestions?
thanks in advance
my question is... can an external hardrive handle 20+ audio tracks? or should i get another internal hardrive... so transfer time will be faster..


Yes an external drive will handle that with ease.

I don't think a Macbook has an option to install internal drive, I could be wrong ??????

flommer has a good and valid point!!!, hey flommer i remember you from VSPLANET right ?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-13-2009, 10:00 AM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,859
Default Re: Hard drive.. internal or external?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgarzag View Post
Im looking at the glyph externals drives right now... but correct if im wrong.. i should not expect the best perfomance if connecting via fw400 instead of 800 or even esata... my macbook has the 400.. that's why i thought of the optibay solution
Keep it at 400, it's plenty fast enough. Glyphs are way overpriced, IMHO. Have you looked here http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other.../MS4U7320GB16/
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internal/External Hard Drive bpsowner Getting Started 13 02-26-2014 10:37 PM
External or internal hard drive barry1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-04-2010 03:00 PM
Firewire/USB external hard drive better than internal? DanielPinho 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 06-04-2009 02:34 AM
Additional Hard Drive: Internal or External Rambo66 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-03-2007 11:13 AM
External Hard drive - slower than internal? Moxon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-29-2005 09:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com