Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-02-2001, 09:04 AM
Pako Pako is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: MT
Posts: 499
Default Outboard S/PDIF Gear on the master fader!!!

Here's the deal. I have a TC M-One that I have hooked up on the S/PDIF. I have utilized many times using AUX or directly on a track.

Has anyone tried routing a outboard device (S/PDIF or Not) to the Master Fader? It just doesn't work. . . . . Maybe you can't do that with the 001, but it's a technique I use on my live gear on a regular basis.

[img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img]
__________________
|OS 10.2.8|80gb ATA100|120gb ATA100|
|Mac|FW800|DP 1.25ghz|1.5gb Ram|
|PTLE 6.1.2|Digi002r|Digimax|
|Recent PC to Mac convert|
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-02-2001, 10:15 AM
KamaSutra77 KamaSutra77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,284
Default Re: Outboard S/PDIF Gear on the master fader!!!

might be becase the master fader feeds the outputs directly, it the end of the line so to speak. So if you introduce, say a effect which includes delay inline with that output, also feed by the out-put you create a loop which quickly would degrade into digital mud.
__________________
Huh?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-2001, 10:25 PM
Pako Pako is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: MT
Posts: 499
Default Re: Outboard S/PDIF Gear on the master fader!!!

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by KamaSutra77:
might be becase the master fader feeds the outputs directly, it the end of the line so to speak. So if you introduce, say a effect which includes delay inline with that output, also feed by the out-put you create a loop which quickly would degrade into digital mud.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


That's kind of what I was assuming, but wasn't able to find any leterature on it.

Thanks for confirming my suspicions.
__________________
|OS 10.2.8|80gb ATA100|120gb ATA100|
|Mac|FW800|DP 1.25ghz|1.5gb Ram|
|PTLE 6.1.2|Digi002r|Digimax|
|Recent PC to Mac convert|
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-03-2001, 11:44 AM
ReniuR ReniuR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Posts: 762
Default Re: Outboard S/PDIF Gear on the master fader!!!

you can change the master fader's input, I believe. So, if you can, in theory, you could rout your 1 and 2 outs (or spdf) to the device, and return it on 1 and 2.

I've been meaning to work with this more to save time with mastering.
__________________
-ReniuR

www.disposableproductions.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-06-2001, 02:00 PM
Pako Pako is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: MT
Posts: 499
Default Re: Outboard S/PDIF Gear on the master fader!!!

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by ReniuR:
you can change the master fader's input, I believe. So, if you can, in theory, you could rout your 1 and 2 outs (or spdf) to the device, and return it on 1 and 2.

I've been meaning to work with this more to save time with mastering.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


I have tried this with no success. System lockup's every time. Please let me know if you get this to work.

~Cheers~
__________________
|OS 10.2.8|80gb ATA100|120gb ATA100|
|Mac|FW800|DP 1.25ghz|1.5gb Ram|
|PTLE 6.1.2|Digi002r|Digimax|
|Recent PC to Mac convert|
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-07-2001, 05:07 PM
Digi9000000 Digi9000000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: San Jose, CA, USA
Posts: 260
Default Re: Outboard S/PDIF Gear on the master fader!!!

Why would you want to do this, as opposed to using an Aux? Just wondering... there is no advantage as far as I can tell.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-08-2001, 10:37 AM
Pako Pako is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: MT
Posts: 499
Default Re: Outboard S/PDIF Gear on the master fader!!!

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Digi9000000:
Why would you want to do this, as opposed to using an Aux? Just wondering... there is no advantage as far as I can tell.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


A lot less routing. All tracks default to the master fader.
__________________
|OS 10.2.8|80gb ATA100|120gb ATA100|
|Mac|FW800|DP 1.25ghz|1.5gb Ram|
|PTLE 6.1.2|Digi002r|Digimax|
|Recent PC to Mac convert|
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-08-2001, 11:42 AM
KamaSutra77 KamaSutra77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,284
Default Re: Outboard S/PDIF Gear on the master fader!!!

If you consider this notion: using spdif proccesing/input on an aux track=adjusting a track fader for playback mixing, a SPDIF insert on a track= you have to open a plugin paramater window to adjust levels.

Confusious say: Why cant I delay a delay?
__________________
Huh?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-08-2001, 11:49 AM
bassmac bassmac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,754
Default Re: Outboard S/PDIF Gear on the master fader!!!

My M3000 is in the s/pdif in/out’s, and I can slap it on my master fader as a stereo insert no problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is it possible to use outboard gear? roblindsay ICON & C|24 2 07-31-2008 09:27 AM
Using outboard gear with 002 Laboratory 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-29-2003 06:05 PM
Analog & S/PDIF out on 1 master fader on 002? LaJaZ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 16 09-27-2003 01:17 PM
Who mixes in the box, but uses an outboard comp on the master fader? bassmac Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 04-22-2003 02:49 AM
Outboard Gear as Insert On Master Fader dmunach 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 01-14-2003 12:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com