Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-24-2004, 09:48 AM
Belle Belle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 24
Default Re: OMS won\'t install on macOSX .help!

But to reboot it on OS9 , i should have a OS( partition, shouldn't I ? My whole system of the hard drive is osx..
if i don't need partition, how do i reboot om OS9 ?
x
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-24-2004, 09:56 AM
clockface clockface is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 185
Default Re: OMS won\'t install on macOSX .help!

What kind of Mac do you have? If it is a dual-boot machine and you are able to run Classic, you should be able to boot OS 9 right now. Go to System Preferences -> Startup Disk, and it should give you a selection of systems if you have more than one installed. If your machine is indeed dual-boot, you should have the option for OS X, OS 9, or Network startup options.

If you machine will not boot in OS 9, you have no other choice except getting the PT 6 upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-24-2004, 10:07 AM
Belle Belle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 24
Default Re: OMS won\'t install on macOSX .help!

well, it only shows OSx ... when i mean make a partition, i can make this one system divide in two and only instal mac os 9 on one of the two partitions
but i don't remember the procedure to save al my stuff and software before making the partition to create a dual boot.
if u can help on that, please do
or
where do i get PT6 ? can i download it here on the site, if yes, please send me a link, or... if i have to buy, do you know how much it is?
x

so, it's PT LE 6.x ?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-24-2004, 10:13 AM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: OMS won\'t install on macOSX .help!

What kind of Mac do you have? Most of the macs made in the last couple of years can't boot into OS9 at all, so it depends on which model you have. Partitioning the drive is not necessary for installing OS9, but if your maching doesn't support it, then there's no use in trying.

Upgrading to PT6 is $75, and can be purchased and downloaded here: http://secure.digidesign.com/. I believe you need to have registered your version of 5.x in order to get the upgrade to 6.x. If you bought your Mbox recently (and have registered it), you should be eligible for a free upgrade, but since all hardware only ships with PT6 now, I'd imagine that you bought your mbox a while ago.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-24-2004, 10:20 AM
clockface clockface is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 185
Default Re: OMS won\'t install on macOSX .help!

Before we go making partitions that may or may not benefit you, what kind of Mac are you running? If it is a newer model, it will not boot in OS 9, no matter what.

I believe you can order PT 6 from the Digi website and they will mail you a CD. It costs $75. You should also be able to find it on the major online music stores for the same price.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 10.3.4 and MacOSX 10.6.8 rrongman macOS 3 04-08-2013 09:37 AM
Have to install pace extension software each time I start Macosx before PT9 will load belolab Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 07-27-2011 05:23 PM
Can i keep both PT 7.4.2 and DP 6 on the same MacOSX 10.5.3 ?? petja Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-27-2009 02:03 PM
003+Macosx neilcash05 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-18-2008 06:15 AM
Problem after install ProTools HD 7.3.1cs5 update for MACOSx onut Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 10-27-2007 09:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com