Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 09-22-2023, 09:53 PM

Default Account update

I've been using Pro Tools on PC for 20-25 years so I've always been Perpetual as far as the account license is concerned. Through the years, there is always an update. The last one that I did was in 2019. Since then, things have changed and there is a fee involved. When I boot the computer up, there is an update icon to click on. I didn't want to click it if it meant that it would automatically change my Perpetual standing because I will be releasing a project soon and don't want to lose my music or have any problems. Can you tell me where to look in my account that would answer my question or maybe you can tell me just based on what I've said. The question is, as a user with a Perpetual license, will clicking on the update change my status?
Old 09-22-2023, 10:56 PM

Default Re: Account update

Where is it telling you to update exactly? Are you talking about OS update or Pro Tools update?

Posting a screen shot will help.

Updating the OS will not change your perpetual status. In fact, nothing will change your perpetual status. That's what perpetual means.

What could happen is the OS may need an update which could render your version of Pro Tools obsolete for that OS version.

Either way, we need more info from you to provide an appropriate answer.

"Help us help you"

https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=300050
Old 09-22-2023, 11:05 PM

You really are not asking folks here if you should upgrade anything while heading towards a project completion?

------

What *exactly* is telling you about an upgrade? Where does the message happen? From what app? Exactly what does it say?