Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 11-17-2008, 08:01 AM

Default Novice Pro Tools LE 7.4 & MIDI Woes

Let me start by saying I am a PT / DAW novice, and know even less about MIDI.

I have a Roland RS-70 synth connected to my notebook PC (HP ZV5255US, AMD Athlon 64, 1/25Gb RAM, Windows XP SP3) using a M-Audio MIDISPORT 2X2 Anniversary Edition. I also have the Mbox 2 Mini bundle.

So far I have had very little success getting any MIDI device to work correctly with PT (Roland RS-70 or Alesis SR-18 drum machine).

Basically, what I want to do is use the synth or drum machine to record a MIDI track in PT, and route the MIDI track to an Aux track that has a xPand plug-in instrument configured.

With the MIDISPORT 2X2, the only way I have been able to record ANYTHING, is with the MIDI "Merge" button selected on the MIDISPORT. Is this correct?

The problem is, even with this setting, the results are very mixed. I am getting random stray notes, and notes I've played are ignored.

I should add that the MIDISPORT is connected to an un-powered USB hub. I just read on the M-Audio forums this AM that is should be directly connected. Need to try it directly connected tonight.

I have checked te MIDI setup in PT and everything looks OK to my inexperienced eyes. I get flashing activity lights on the MIDISPORT 2X2 "A" in and out ports.

I've read the MIDI section of the PT users guide, my synth and drum machine manuals and played extensively with every related setting I can find.

HELP!!!!

Can anyone shed some light on this topic?
Old 11-17-2008, 08:10 AM

Default Re: Novice Pro Tools LE 7.4 & MIDI Woes