Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-29-2011, 03:48 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,445
Default Pro tools 9 and Kontakt 4 - waaaaayyy too many stuck notes

I am doing some very basic CC automation on some Kontakt 4 patches, basically just turning stuff on and off with 2 CCs, so they are just changing value one digit at a time. The CC automation changes are not happening anywhere near any notes, they occur at least one measure before the notes start playing. With almost every pass of playback, I get at least one or two stuck notes. This is not a complex session at all, and I'm not overloading the CPU.

Anyone ever run into this? I do not have this problem with Logic, so I'm wondering if other people are having the same issue with PT9.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-28-2012, 01:30 PM
bradp bradp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: worcester, ma usa
Posts: 104
Default Re: Pro tools 9 and Kontakt 4 - waaaaayyy too many stuck notes

Quote:
Originally Posted by John_Toolbox View Post
I am doing some very basic CC automation on some Kontakt 4 patches, basically just turning stuff on and off with 2 CCs, so they are just changing value one digit at a time. The CC automation changes are not happening anywhere near any notes, they occur at least one measure before the notes start playing. With almost every pass of playback, I get at least one or two stuck notes. This is not a complex session at all, and I'm not overloading the CPU.

Anyone ever run into this? I do not have this problem with Logic, so I'm wondering if other people are having the same issue with PT9.
although im using pt10hd native and komplete 8, i get stuck notes after stopping playback of a midi track... havnt done too much testing yet...
wonder if its a kontact thing?
__________________
thanks, brad

Mac Pro:
PT 11.3.2 HD native, MIDI IO, 96IO
Mac Pro Desktop 4,1 osx 10.11.6., 8 Core 2.26GHz 2009 Intel Xeon MB535LL/A 16GB RAM 640GB HD ATI 4870
-----
MBP:
OS 10.11.6, MacBookPro 5,1, Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4GHz Memory: 8 GB Bus Speed:1.07 GHz, Boot ROM Version: MBP51.007E.B06, SMC Version (system):1.33f8
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-30-2012, 05:46 PM
noah330 noah330 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 569
Default Re: Pro tools 9 and Kontakt 4 - waaaaayyy too many stuck notes

Also Kontakt 5/Komplete 8 user. However, I was experiencing this (as well as sluggish performance to the point of ditching my Mac Pro for a new one) until I uninstalled and reinstalled on a separate drive.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-05-2012, 04:29 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,445
Default

You mean you're running the kontakt app on a separate drive from the os, or that you reinstalled the os and programs on a different drive?

I just did a complete reinstall of my os and programs from scratch and I'm amazed at how fast my machine boots again. Got rid of a lot of annoying glitches in other software as well. I will test this same session again and see if the stuck notes are still there.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-05-2012, 09:02 PM
bradp bradp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: worcester, ma usa
Posts: 104
Default Re: Pro tools 9 and Kontakt 4 - waaaaayyy too many stuck notes

Quote:
Originally Posted by John_Toolbox View Post
You mean you're running the kontakt app on a separate drive from the os, or that you reinstalled the os and programs on a different drive?

I just did a complete reinstall of my os and programs from scratch and I'm amazed at how fast my machine boots again. Got rid of a lot of annoying glitches in other software as well. I will test this same session again and see if the stuck notes are still there.
john, i thought your end line (signature quote?) was super funny! thats a good one only midi heads would get !!!!! lololol
__________________
thanks, brad

Mac Pro:
PT 11.3.2 HD native, MIDI IO, 96IO
Mac Pro Desktop 4,1 osx 10.11.6., 8 Core 2.26GHz 2009 Intel Xeon MB535LL/A 16GB RAM 640GB HD ATI 4870
-----
MBP:
OS 10.11.6, MacBookPro 5,1, Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4GHz Memory: 8 GB Bus Speed:1.07 GHz, Boot ROM Version: MBP51.007E.B06, SMC Version (system):1.33f8
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI notes stuck jkeefauver 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-30-2007 06:49 PM
stuck midi notes! GinGin3 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 03-08-2007 12:20 PM
stuck/hanging notes and ghost notes PatrickD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-16-2005 02:30 PM
Stuck MIDI notes in 6.7 IO Composer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 11-29-2004 04:39 PM
Stuck notes and PT 6.01 WestPhillySoulzition 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-26-2003 08:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com