Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 11-17-2021, 12:31 PM

Default Random popping and clicking during playback (not heard in Bounce)

Hi everyone,
I'm new to Pro Tools (First) and I've been using it for a couple of months now. Ever since I started out I've been hearing random clicking and popping noices during playback. I've been searching this forum for a while now and so far I haven't been able to find a fix for the problem. If anyone here could suggest possible solutions that would be great! I've found so little posts about this exact issue that I started wondering wether my Scarlett Solo just came in broken. Hardware specs etc. are all the way down.

The clicks and pops are:
  • Hearable at random intervals: sometimes not at all, sometimes all the time.
  • Are heard during playback of instrument recordings, as well as Midi recordings or anything I program manually (basically it can happen to anything I've recorded up until this point, which makes me think it's a setting/hardware problem, rather than a recording problem).
  • Not in the bounce
Things I've tried so far to fix this issue:

• Alter buffer size
  • Check if my CPU could be the problem: so far it's always below 20%
  • Checked all different USB ports, re-installed drivers, made sure Windows doesn't turn of USB power, etc. (I have no issues with other USB devices)
  • Try different Headphones
System Specs and Hardware:
  • Focusrite Scarlett Solo 3th gen
  • Windows 10 Pro x64
  • i5-8600k CPU
  • 16GB RAM
  • MSI Z370 A pro motherboard
  • Samson SR850 Headphones
  • Anyting else that might be of interest?
Old 11-17-2021, 03:15 PM

Default Re: Random popping and clicking during playback (not heard in Bounce)