Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-24-2004, 05:01 PM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default SATA? FW800? G5 drives - definitive answer?

I'm going to get a dual 2.5 this week...

What's the definitive word on storage?

Do I want to use the stock apple 160gig SATA for system drive and sample storage +

1. a 2nd SATA (10k?) for audio

2. FW800 drive(s) for audio

3. some combination of FW400 for online backup

What are you guys doing for workflow (hot swap issues?) and compatibility with the outside world?

My rig is HD3 accel.

I typically work 24/44.1, but I hope to take it to 24/96 once I figure out this storage thing. I know my storage needs will more than double.

What about track count?

There have been preliminary threads relating to this, but nothing definitive... what's the BEST workflow/trackcount method - FW800 or SATA?

Thanks,

jr
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2004, 05:27 PM
Dutchmuzik Dutchmuzik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: SATA? FW800? G5 drives - definitive answer?

I just ordered 1 about 2 weeks ago. I decided on a WD Raptor 74GB SATA 10.000 RPM internal drive for audio. I have a removeable Granite Digital FW400 for backups. And for my sample library I got a LaCie D2 Firewire800 extreme triple interface. The "new" one that was just released with the 8MB Cache, 160GB. Also I got an external Lacie D2 Firewire CD Burner. I rackmounted the 2 Lacie's per Filmixer's recommendation of the rack kit which is very nice.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-24-2004, 06:29 PM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default Re: SATA? FW800? G5 drives - definitive answer?

>> Also I got an external Lacie D2 Firewire CD Burner

Hmm.. mind if I ask why this external CD vs. the superdrive built in?

So if i understand what you're saying you are:

- putting your sample lib on a FW800
- using FW400 for backups (removeable granite digital trays)
- using an internal 10k 74gig SATA to do your work.

What kind of track count do you expect with a single fast SATA? Digi specs say 32 tracks... (or is that outdated?)

>> SATA drives are qualified for up to 32 tracks at 44.1/48 kHz with Pro Tools|HD and
>> Pro Tools|HD Accel systems on Power Mac G5 models

Hmm... and what if you need more than 74 gigs online at a time - as in working on more than one project?

I'm just thinking ahead....

also - from http://www.digidesign.com/compato/os...igi HD compato:
Quote:
FW800 Drives - Currently Not Supported With Pro Tools 6.2.3 or 6.4

A single FW800 drive was qualified with Pro Tools 6.2 on Mac OS X 10.2.8 only, and not tested with later Pro Tools releases. Multiple daisy-chained FW800 drives are not currently supported with any Pro Tools release.

So now I'm thoroughly confused.

We can't use FW800 for audio if daisychained.
We can't combine FW with SATA in the same session.
Track count with SATA is only 32 tracks at 24/48

So -- what are you guys with big rigs and big sessions doing - with my HD3 accel on an old G4, I'm getting great track counts with FW400 and using multiple FW400 when I need more than 32 tracks.

Trying to figure out the best plan for the new G5.

Thanks to all for your thoughts and success stories.

jr
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-24-2004, 08:22 PM
Soul For Sale Soul For Sale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 127
Default Re: SATA? FW800? G5 drives - definitive answer?

I use a FW800 Pro Audio Edition by Easy Quest. They are cool. They have a quite ball-bearing fan system. Best of luck. Anyway you go, you rig will be awesome!-Kris
__________________
System:
G5 Dual 2.0 with 2.5 gigs RAM
Magma 64 bit 7 slot chassis,HD Core, (4) HD Accel Cards, (2) HD Process Cards, 192 i/O, SYNC, Most Plugins
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-25-2004, 05:39 PM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default Re: SATA? FW800? G5 drives - definitive answer?

__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-25-2004, 06:00 PM
John McDaniel John McDaniel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Cincinnati, OH USA
Posts: 609
Default Re: SATA? FW800? G5 drives - definitive answer?

I'm with you Jeremy. I have 2 new G5's waiting to go into service on HD rigs that are currently running on G4 based 9600's under OS 9. It seems to be unclear whether the FireWire problem is with entirely within Panther. There seem to be weaknesses in the FW800 bus on the G5's. I don't know if it's software, hardware, or a little of both. Panther v10.3.6 will be released fairly soon. Since it's been seeded to developers for a while, I'm hoping that Digi has been looking into whether FW800 performance is better under 10.3.6. It's odd that Digi qualifies 10.2.5 ONLY for the latest version of the dual 2.0 Ghz and 2.5 Ghz PowerMacs. Dunno. I'm ready to leave SCSI, but I'm not going to do it until this all gets sorted out. My current systems are STABLE and reliable.

j mcd
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-25-2004, 06:25 PM
the dude's Avatar
the dude the dude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Burbank , Kalifornia, USA
Posts: 1,184
Default Re: SATA? FW800? G5 drives - definitive answer?

In my opinion getting the Raptor SATA is the equivalent of gold plating a gold ingot. The 7200 SATA drive in itself is fast enough to do just about anything that you need doing, and besides the fact thats its only a 72-gigs blows
I have a 160 SATA and it rocks. I broke the internal stock 160
into a 60/100 partition ( you will never use 60 gig for the OS ) and the 100 gig is for PT Back-up and samples etc...
the second SATA is for PT exclusively . As well I do use the FW800 drives also
__________________

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
http://www.studio-techservices.com

าำ
studio.tech@yahoo.comm
Mitch Berger Tech Services




We service ALL Avid products no Problem
HD192, 192, Omni, Control Surface, Pre, XMON, 192HD AD & DA / Accel Cards, Everything

ALL NEW HD192 AD -DA modification. the difference is incredible... no need to ship the entire unit , fast turn around

inquiry using link above
Repairs of SSL-Neve- Consoles and Repair ALL Modern & Vintage Gear
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-25-2004, 06:30 PM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default Re: SATA? FW800? G5 drives - definitive answer?

>> the second SATA is for PT exclusively . As well I do use the FW800 drives also

Ok dude, so what kind of track count are you getting using SATA? What hardware & sample rates?

Have you recorded to mixed sessions of SATA and FW800?

All input and success stories appreciated.

jr
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-25-2004, 06:40 PM
Andrew B75 Andrew B75 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 62
Default Re: SATA? FW800? G5 drives - definitive answer?

First off, you can't compare SATA and FW as they are both not drive interfaces. Fire Wire [1394] developed by the IEEE is not actually a drive interface. There is no such thing as a fire wire drive. You are using a 1394 - PATA tailgate. SATA is a drive interface.

1394 or "FW800" for that matter is originally intended for hooking up camera's to computers. We will most likely not be seing FW introduced as a drive interface..too expensive to do so...it's already 20 yr old obsolete technology...but the masses have just begun to find out about it.

For great performace vs cost...go with PATA WD JB Caviar SE drives. If you want to be cutting edge you can go with the Raptor drive. Be careful with SATA drives...they haven't really been proven yet and nobody knows what will happen to them down the road.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-26-2004, 11:38 AM
the dude's Avatar
the dude the dude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Burbank , Kalifornia, USA
Posts: 1,184
Default Re: SATA? FW800? G5 drives - definitive answer?

Quote:
Ok dude, so what kind of track count are you getting using SATA? What hardware & sample rates?

Have you recorded to mixed sessions of SATA and FW800?

All input and success stories appreciated.

jr
Track count ? Couldn't tell ya I'm not in the habit of counting tracks
I can tell you that we have done small sessions and hugh sessions
and I have not had any issues.

Hardware = HD3 accel
6 - 192 each with 16 D/A

mixed sessions
yes you should use both SATA and 800
__________________

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
http://www.studio-techservices.com

าำ
studio.tech@yahoo.comm
Mitch Berger Tech Services




We service ALL Avid products no Problem
HD192, 192, Omni, Control Surface, Pre, XMON, 192HD AD & DA / Accel Cards, Everything

ALL NEW HD192 AD -DA modification. the difference is incredible... no need to ship the entire unit , fast turn around

inquiry using link above
Repairs of SSL-Neve- Consoles and Repair ALL Modern & Vintage Gear
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Definitive answer on Dyn Comp 3? studiojb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-07-2012 01:17 AM
Artist Eucon On PC...Definitive Answer? Bill Denton Artist Series 1 11-09-2010 12:12 AM
The Definitive Answer to Using Logic with PT PTGuy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-02-2006 04:52 PM
Has there ever been a clear, definitive answer... leftalive 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-02-2004 12:25 PM
Definitive Bounce to Disk Answer Sheep 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 02-29-2004 10:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com