Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2012, 02:16 PM
Rockman-Songwriter123 Rockman-Songwriter123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 8
Default Please help! Pro Tools 9 native - major problem!

Hi everyone,

I'm having a problem with my Pro Tools 9 native system and I sure hope someone can help. Thanks!

Here are my specs:

-Imac Quadcore, 3.4 GHz, i7 processor - 16 GB Ram - OS X 10.6.8
-Pro Tools 9 Native
-Apogee Rosetta 800/96 (via Firewire)
-VEPro 5 - Kontakt 5 - Triton Classic + Nanokontrol2 (MIDI controllers) -
-2 separate Firewire drives (1 for sound libraries - and the other for Pro Tools audio drive)

This system is fairly new (2 months). It has been running well until yesterday. All of a sudden, my imac is freezing up on me (I keep getting the spinning wheel, every 30 seconds or so). I'm also getting digital clicks, every couple of minutes, coming from my speakers (even when Pro Tools is not playing - just sitting there). I can't get any sound whatsoever out of Pro Tools (i.e. when I play a virtual instrument, etc). I see the meters move, but no sound.

I tried trashing all my prefs. I'm fairly new to trashing prefs, so I found a YouTube video that showed me how to do it, and as it turns out, I ended up trashed ALL the prefs (not just Pro Tools) - and I had to start all over again (i.e. setting up my hardware, etc). I'm not 100% sure on how to set everything up (I had a friend do my setup 2 months ago).

I should mention that 2 days ago, I did a software update (multiple items) on my imac. I can't quite recall what the items were now. I think one of them was a security update, and there was an itunes update, etc. I wonder if that had anything to do with the problem.

I'm still running OS X 10.6.8 (snow leopard). My version of Pro Tools is 9.0. Once again, it has been running fine for 2 months, up until yesterday.

Is there anyone who knows this system inside and out? anyone that can walk me through the required settings? Maybe something got changed by accident.

I would really appreciate your help. Thank you!

Rockman-songwriter123
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-07-2012, 04:06 PM
RegenerationMix RegenerationMix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 752
Default Re: Please help! Pro Tools 9 native - major problem!

try updating to 9.0.3 or 9.0.5 or 9.0.6. I dont think anyone is still on 9.0. Too many problems.




Chris
__________________
http://www.youtube.com/user/RegenerationMix

http://soundcloud.com/regenerationmix

http://twitter.com/regenerationmix


MacBook Pro, 2.4GHZ, 16GB, Intel Core i7, Mac OS 10.9.1 128 SSD internal HD, 750 GB Internal HD, Pro Tools 10.3.8, Digidesign 003r, Waves 8.0, Final Cut Pro 7
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-07-2012, 09:02 PM
Rockman-Songwriter123 Rockman-Songwriter123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 8
Default Re: Please help! Pro Tools 9 native - major problem!

Thanks Chris. I thought about upgrading. I guess I was a little weary of upgrading and losing compatibility with the rest of my system. I'll have to check out what the details of the upgrades are... any idea on where I can find them?

Freakiest thing... my system suddenly started working again. I have no idea how that happened (which means it can get screwed up again with no warning).

Anyone else ever have these kinds of glitches with Pro Tools 9? Digital clicks and pops and your imac freezing up on you all the time?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-07-2012, 09:20 PM
RegenerationMix RegenerationMix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 752
Default Re: Please help! Pro Tools 9 native - major problem!

Hi, here are the different updates and the info on each.



http://avid.custkb.com/avid/app/self...p?DocId=355241


Chris
__________________
http://www.youtube.com/user/RegenerationMix

http://soundcloud.com/regenerationmix

http://twitter.com/regenerationmix


MacBook Pro, 2.4GHZ, 16GB, Intel Core i7, Mac OS 10.9.1 128 SSD internal HD, 750 GB Internal HD, Pro Tools 10.3.8, Digidesign 003r, Waves 8.0, Final Cut Pro 7
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-07-2012, 10:42 PM
Rockman-Songwriter123 Rockman-Songwriter123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 8
Default Re: Please help! Pro Tools 9 native - major problem!

Thanks Chris. I'll check it out.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MAJOR Problem with ASIO Drivers HD Native Thunderbolt/Omni blacklionmusicgroup Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 2 06-29-2013 10:13 PM
Big Problem with HD native and pro tools 9.0.2!!! hart07 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 14 01-23-2013 04:13 PM
Major Stressing Pro Tools Problem SamMight69 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 02-04-2010 06:46 PM
Help I have a major problem Gort 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-28-2009 11:30 AM
Pro Tools 7.1.3 / Reaktor 5.1.2 - MAJOR PROBLEM!!! oliverio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 08-30-2007 10:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com