Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2010, 08:07 AM
Streetcurbs Streetcurbs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Atlantic City, NJ
Posts: 2
Default Problems Sending Pro Tools Sessions

Hey all,

Im new to this... not really sure if I'm putting this thread in the right place but I'll try anyway. Im working on this project right now with someone in LA, which is needless to say pretty far from my residence in Atlantic City, NJ. so we got a pando account to send pro tools files and tried sending a few test sessions. It worked (in a way) in that the session did get sent... however all the tracks were blank. There are a few things that could be happening. 1. He has Pro Tools 8 and I'm working on 7.3... but PT is supposed to be backwards compatible and this shouldnt be an issue. 2. He has Leopard and I have Tiger, this could very well be a problem but im not sure. 3. We have different plugins... which would explain why certain tracks were blank but tracks that had no effect on them did not work either. We tried sending a session with just an acoustic guitar track and it did not work.
Does anyone have any suggestions or perhaps experience sending sessions?

I will probably be upgrading to Leopard soon, in which case I will be able to upgrade to Pro Tools 8 as well... but we'd like to record ASAP. Thanks.
P.S. If you want to hear some tracks check this out http://www.myspace.com/aclavortex
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-15-2010, 08:23 AM
clausiii's Avatar
clausiii clausiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 1,817
Default Re: Problems Sending Pro Tools Sessions

stupid question maybe, but do you send the session file only or the whole session folder?
__________________
My ears! My ears!
clausiii
-----------------
MacBook Pro i7 Quad 2.6GHz 16GB RAM
ProTools 2020.11
Avid S1
Avid Dock
Avid Control
Digidesign Command|8
macOS Catalina
MOTU 4pre
MOTU Track16
Axiom Pro 25
LinnStrument 128
Roli Seaboard Block

tons of stomp boxes
tube amps
guitars
noise
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-15-2010, 09:24 AM
bradch00 bradch00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lions Bay, Canada - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,236
Default Re: Problems Sending Pro Tools Sessions

I do this pretty much regularly (me on the west coast of Canada, my writing partner is in Malaysia). I usually "save a copy in" a folder that is specifically sessions that are to be sent, zip (make an archive) of the new folder and drag and drop to my .mac iDisk.

A couple of things, make sure you are sending the entire session folder. Not just the session file. All that contains is settings and configuration info for the session, no audio. Another thing, since the target machine is PT8 and yours is a PT7.x, try having your collaborating partner turn elastic audio off on all the tracks. I found we had to do this when moving sessions around.
__________________
Pro Tools, Studio One Pro
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max 64GB-1TB NVME
OWC Thunderbay Mini (4TB SSD)
OWC Express 4M2 (4 X 2TB)
Interface: Presonus Quantum
Presonus Faderport & Faderport 8
Black Lion Sparrow Mk2 A/D, FMR-RNP-RNC, MIDI Xpress 128
BM5A, KRK VXT4, Equator D5
2020 Macbook Pro 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD Audio(mobile rig)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-15-2010, 09:56 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Problems Sending Pro Tools Sessions

U need to do Save Copy in, making SURE ALL AUDIO is checked as well & as Brad said, Zip it up unless Pando allows u to send the folder; U may wanna check out DROPBOX.COM which u can just put the files|folders into a folder created for both of u & it goes straight to each others computer; no downloading, or going to an email or acct to check anything...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-15-2010, 11:58 AM
Streetcurbs Streetcurbs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Atlantic City, NJ
Posts: 2
Default Re: Problems Sending Pro Tools Sessions

hey guys,

thanks alot your replies are very helpful... yea we weren't sending the session folder just the session, makes sense that it wouldn't work. Also, I'll have him turn off elastic audio, and well just zip it up and follow the rest of the steps you mentioned. Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sending pro tools sessions using mobile me wmsjr49 General Discussion 3 11-26-2009 09:50 PM
Sending sessions over the net? Vinnyvenditto 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 05-24-2005 05:59 AM
Sending Sessions Via Email? 100grit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 04-12-2005 11:00 PM
Sending Sessions Via kaaza? da BaSsTaRd! 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-11-2003 01:58 AM
Problems with sending audio from Pro-Tools to ADAT vidna 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 02-01-2002 02:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com