Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-28-2003, 10:03 AM

Default Composer Tracking

Hey you guys, are most of you( composers) tracking songs straight through, or are you doing them in parts and editing the peices together. Which do you find the most effective and trouble free; with the exception of playing abilities? [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img] What instruments are you beginning with?
Old 04-28-2003, 01:20 PM

Default Re: Composer Tracking

BTV,

I am a composer but I also use this place as a project studio and produce others as well. I have been recording for many years (both sides of the glass) and have used many different techniques. Straight thru "live" band w-no overdubbing to cut and pasting one song together from many takes and tracks...

There is no right way to do this recording stuff... It depends on a lot of factors. Can the drummer work with a click? Can the guitarist make it all the way through a 7 minute song without a big clinker??? Can you isolate a singer who also playes guitar but has trouble with the vocal parts and will need to sing over the original take..