Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 02-04-2015, 10:33 PM

Default Pro Tools freezes when creating Fades, analyzing EA, or consolidating clips [SOLVED]

Hey Forum-goers I am in need of some help.

Some general background information, I am a student attending a Post-Secondary recording program and I share my work among 3 different systems currently.

As of around a week and a half ago my workflow has come to a halt, these are my issues: Fade shortcut (command + F) causes my sessions to freeze and stop responding. Elastic audio, the wave in my clip will turn grey and it will never analyze the date (I have left it open, analyzing, for close to 30 minutes and it never completes). A new one I discovered is that I cannot consolidate clips, that now freezes my system as well. Exporting and importing audio is now giving me grief as well, including more freezing and crashing.

These are many simple things that should work without a doubt. I am currently doing the editing on a 2014 Macbook Pro with 8GB of Ram, should be able to handle the workload without a doubt.

I have tried a couple times to delete all of the Avid/Pro Tools/Digidesign files on my computer and then perform a clean install. The first time I tried that my functions returned and it worked flawlessly until I tried to export my audio to a different session and it started acting up again. Upon retrying the reinstall, the issues have persisted and I don't know what to do. My Prof. at school is unsure on how I can resolve this issue as well.