Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 11-07-2001, 09:41 PM

Default Getting that sweet sound.

Im rather new with ProTools. I know how to use it, but the tecniques I lack. I have a Mesa Dual Rec Combo, the 57 Mic and the Digi plug ins. My dist. sound always sounds muddy. Im looking for a heavy tone. Ive trying everything I know of(delay for stereo, eq(what i know)) but i havent got it yet. any advice for settings on the mesa and plugins for this sound?? Thanks [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img]
Old 11-07-2001, 10:25 PM

Default Re: Getting that sweet sound.

try "less = more". don't use too much distortion and it will sound better in the mix. perhaps layer two takes with different eq, or one take per speaker- but right at distortion and not way over. make sure the playing is real strong and tight also. it's easy to get sloppy with distortion as it seems to hide loose fret work. record the combo really dry- like in a closet with clothes and carpet; and raise it a couple feet above ground. then find the best speaker and experiment with close mic placement.(6 or less inches) mic placement, then amp settings, are the most solid ways to eq without compromise.
Old 11-08-2001, 02:13 AM

thanks for the advice felix. When you say different Eq's. Do you mean one with a higher gain and one w/ a lower?? whats a good mix, I only have the regular protools 4 band eq.
Old 11-08-2001, 07:09 AM

Don't want to get off topic, but the best guitar sound will not be achieved inside Pro Tools.

It's all in the 1.Amp
2.Player
3.Guitar.

If all that sounds great, then your 57 thru a Neve mic pre will sound great without any Plugins. (I rarely EQ'ed guitar when I used to work on a real Neve console)