Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 10-11-2006, 05:56 PM

Default Programming realistic piano parts

I've got a question about programming piano parts. I just bought the music for Imagine and programmed the notes in with the pencil tool (I should note that this is my first attempt at anything MIDI in Pro Tools or otherwise). It sounds pretty good but very mechanical. I don't play piano so the fine details of a performance don't come to me naturally. What are some tips to making the machine sound more natural. I'm guessing things like the notes of the dominant hand will be slightly louder and of course the performance will not be at the exact same tempo throughout so varying the tempo slightly is something I plan on doing. Any other tips for making a programmed piano performance sound more natural?? Thanks.
Old 10-11-2006, 06:47 PM

Default Re: Programming realistic piano parts

When you pencil in notes, the velocities (how hard/soft you play the notes) are all the same. That's a lot of the reason why it sounds mechanical.

When you actually play the piece, the velocities are continuously variable and all depend on the way that you play. Accented notes would have a higher velocity value.

To program realistic sounding piano parts, a general understanding of "the fine details of a performance" are necessary, I'm afraid. Listen to the recorded piece and determine which notes are louder and softer and program the velocities of the notes accordingly.