Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-08-2002, 07:32 PM
supadisco supadisco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: san francisco
Posts: 2
Default How to separate left from right channel?

First time caller to the show, so please go easy on me.

Is there any way to be able to patch a part of the right channel on to the left channel? That is, to "unlock" the left from the right?
I recorded some vinyl that has bad noise in only the right channel for a split second, and if I could paste that exact part of the left channel onto the right, i'm guessing no one would tell that short bit's in mono.
Thank you SOO much, this is a wonderful forum, and i'm learning so much from you all. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-08-2002, 10:43 PM
stevemusic stevemusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: SF CA USA
Posts: 48
Default Re: How to separate left from right channel?

To "unlock" the left from the right, use "split stereo into mono tracks" (under file or edit) - this will leave the stereo file in place and create 2 separate mono tracks in sync with the stereo tracks. Then you can edit the individual mono parts, selectively.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-08-2002, 10:50 PM
stevemusic stevemusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: SF CA USA
Posts: 48
Default Re: How to separate left from right channel?

To "unlock" the left from the right, use "split stereo into mono tracks" (under file or edit) - this will leave the stereo file in place and create 2 separate mono tracks in sync with the stereo tracks. Then you can edit the individual mono parts, selectively.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-08-2002, 10:58 PM
stevemusic stevemusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: SF CA USA
Posts: 48
Default Re: How to separate left from right channel?

To "unlock" the left from the right, use "split stereo into mono tracks" (under file or edit) - this will leave the stereo file in place and create 2 separate mono tracks in sync with the stereo tracks. Then you can edit the individual mono parts, selectively.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-09-2002, 08:43 AM
VillageGreen VillageGreen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 180
Default Re: How to separate left from right channel?

What was that stevemusic? Not sure he got it?

Sorry, couldn't resist.
__________________
God Save Mrs. Mopp
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-09-2002, 08:53 AM
woodywho woodywho is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: qns,ny
Posts: 483
Default Re: How to separate left from right channel?

stevemusic...........can you say that again, I think I missed something [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
__________________
Have you seen my 2 inch reel??
HitBound Studios
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-10-2002, 07:47 AM
mentalmusic mentalmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NoHo
Posts: 305
Default Re: How to separate left from right channel?

To "unlock" the left from the right, use "split stereo into mono tracks" (under file or edit) - this will leave the stereo file in place and create 2 separate mono tracks in sync with the stereo tracks. Then you can edit the individual mono parts, selectively.
__________________
Digi001 * Pro Tools LE v5.2beta * Mac G4 733Mhz * 1.5gb RAM
40gb internal HD * Lacie 40gb firewire HD * Radeon 7000 dual-display
http://www.erikkarter.batcave.net
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-11-2002, 03:16 PM
supadisco supadisco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: san francisco
Posts: 2
Default Re: How to separate left from right channel?

steve, you're music to my ears times 3, my good man!! [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

-jason
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recording on left channel only danzbassman Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 12-03-2011 11:49 AM
002, left channel only! Jay002 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 09-16-2011 01:34 PM
Stereo in only on left channel badbiker ICON & C|24 7 04-15-2011 01:28 AM
Strange CoreAudio issue - right channel information getting into left channel -JK- Pro Tools 9 5 01-10-2011 09:42 AM
fix for left channel Jeff Hodges ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 8 05-05-2002 05:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com