Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-04-2010, 08:41 PM
Violet Violet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 526
Talking New Macs Pros 12 cores coming this month! Is HD 'really' necessary anymore?

http://www.apple.com/macpro/

I honestly don't get it? I don't. My i7 never runs out of juice running all processing plugin's. If I introduce VI's, that's different depending on the VI, but Avid seriously????? Those cards are ancient!
__________________
PT 9.0.3
Windows 7 64 bit, 2x i7 PCs, 24GB, 3 SSD's, 5 HD's
....and a couple other toys.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-04-2010, 08:42 PM
Violet Violet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 526
Default New Macs Pros 12 cores coming this month! Is HD 'really' necessary anymore?

http://www.apple.com/macpro/

I honestly don't get it? I don't. My i7 never runs out of juice running all processing plugin's. If I introduce VI's, that's different depending on the VI, but Avid seriously????? Those cards are ancient!
__________________
PT 9.0.3
Windows 7 64 bit, 2x i7 PCs, 24GB, 3 SSD's, 5 HD's
....and a couple other toys.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2010, 09:29 PM
mixboy bob mixboy bob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 564
Default Re: New Macs Pros 12 cores coming this month! Is HD 'really' necessary anymore?

You already answered your own question. The beauty of LE and HD are that each person can choose the proper system for his/her needs. It sounds like you don't need HD. It has nothing to do with quad core, octa core or 12 core.

For me - as of today, you would have to pry my HD rig out of my cold, dead hands. LE and Native would need some serious work to satisfy my daily needs. I HAVE to have HD.

But a 12 core COMBINED with my HD6 is a lovely thought! Serious power....

peace

Rob Burrell
aka mixboy
__________________
http://www.robburrell.com
PTHD Ultimate 2020.BETA/2019 Mac Pro 3.2ghz 16-core/96GB RAM/Aja Kona LHi/Akitio Thunder 3 Quad Mini with 4TB SSD drives/Focusrite 16Line/UAD-2 Octo PCIe/32 Channel S1/Dock with (5) 2019 Amazon Fire HD 10 Tablets/XMON//11.1.4 Dolby Atmos Setup
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-04-2010, 10:24 PM
carlos santana carlos santana is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 300
Default Re: New Macs Pros 12 cores coming this month! Is HD 'really' necessary anymore?

+1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-04-2010, 10:26 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: New Macs Pros 12 cores coming this month! Is HD 'really' necessary anymore?

HD has nothing to do with power anymore. Passed that a few years back. HD is about stability and flexibility. I like to describe it as transparent in the process. With HD you never think about what you can and can't do, it just never gets in your way.

It's funny, tonight I was going through some old recordings I'd done years ago on ADAT's. I paid 2800 each for 3 ADAT's about 11 years ago and thought I was getting so much. Today, for an HD2 with a strong MacPro for 8500 all in for that, run most plugs in RTAS, you're simply not likely to ever need to upgrade ever again, exception being heavy VI music, of which I'd say avoid HD for that style anyway.

Want a Les Paul, don't buy an Ephiphone, no matter what you do to it, it will never be a Les Paul. The average guy at home or recording their band for fun, can get by with so much less than HD. But for serious folks and old farts like me who've tried just about everything, get what you know you want andt could stop trying to make everything do what only what you want will do.

That could be a les Paul, fender strat, prs, shur, hammer, Tom Anderson, mustang GT or even a Corvette. It's all the same philosophically.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-05-2010, 08:56 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,806
Default Re: New Macs Pros 12 cores coming this month! Is HD 'really' necessary anymore?

As Barry said - there's a lot more to HD than just the ability to process plug-ins. Automation modes, support for large format control surfaces, extensive video support, additional editing tools/modes, additional IO and so on are what sets HD apart from LE.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-05-2010, 10:25 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: New Macs Pros 12 cores coming this month! Is HD 'really' necessary anymore?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
As Barry said - there's a lot more to HD than just the ability to process plug-ins. Automation modes, support for large format control surfaces, extensive video support, additional editing tools/modes, additional IO and so on are what sets HD apart from LE.
but it's all coding choices, nothing about a DSP chip makes any of those things HD exclusive
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-05-2010, 12:10 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,806
Default Re: New Macs Pros 12 cores coming this month! Is HD 'really' necessary anymore?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
but it's all coding choices, nothing about a DSP chip makes any of those things HD exclusive
Well, yes and no. Currently some of those 'coding choices' require an HD chip for the mix engine, which handles automation and some of the other features in HD.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-05-2010, 01:40 PM
Violet Violet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 526
Default Re: New Macs Pros 12 cores coming this month! Is HD 'really' necessary anymore?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
As Barry said - there's a lot more to HD than just the ability to process plug-ins. Automation modes, support for large format control surfaces, extensive video support, additional editing tools/modes, additional IO and so on are what sets HD apart from LE.
Umm, do you need a $1000-$2000 card to do that, I'm pretty sure intel's chips passed the DSP chips on the Accel cards awhile ago in processing power.

My point is like Craig is saying, is that Avid very well could hire some better programmers and give all Pro Tool users these features all the while gaining back a huge portion of the market share. Or... Avid could still believe that we believe that the chips on the cards are faster and provide stability and features.

Do any of the other DAW's need cards to run all the features they have?

I'm sorry if you guys at Avid live in a box, but if you would just listen you would know these cards are unnecessary....12 cores unnecessary.

I don't mean to be a jerk, I really don't I just say things how they are.
__________________
PT 9.0.3
Windows 7 64 bit, 2x i7 PCs, 24GB, 3 SSD's, 5 HD's
....and a couple other toys.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-08-2010, 04:25 AM
tamasdragon tamasdragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: New Macs Pros 12 cores coming this month! Is HD 'really' necessary anymore?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Well, yes and no. Currently some of those 'coding choices' require an HD chip for the mix engine, which handles automation and some of the other features in HD.
Still, imho it would be a wiser choice if le -or let's call it native- pro tools will get pro features. That could wipe the floor with other apps.
If this attitude (from Avid) will last much longer, I think many will leave pro tools behind.
__________________
my blog:Tamas Dragon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Mac Pros are coming!!! :) Dism macOS 55 06-12-2012 03:44 PM
16 Core Mac Pros coming? nst7 General Discussion 9 06-24-2011 11:50 PM
The 6 and 12 core mac pros are coming..... John_Toolbox Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 25 08-10-2010 08:30 AM
Amplitube OSX Stand Alone coming next month IK_Jason 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 11-15-2002 03:49 PM
Amplitube OSX Stand Alone coming next month. IK_Jason Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-14-2002 02:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com