Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-30-2009, 08:45 PM
Sherbert99 Sherbert99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 96
Default How to get rid of the split edit window with midi?

Once in a while I accidently hit something that splits my edit screen and puts a midi window on the bottom half of my "edit window". How do I hide it?

It is a horrible design because it doesn't have a close button on it and it has no name so I can't find it in the manual. It's not in the window drop down either. It lists the tracks on the left and has the midi in it only.

Any help would be appreciated on how to close this.

After an hour of trying to figure out how to close this stupid window I punched my computer but that didn't help.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-30-2009, 08:55 PM
Avid's Avatar
Avid Avid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 9,578
Default Re: How to get rid of the split edit window with midi?

See the "What's New in LE and MP 8.0.pdf", which should be in your Documentation folder for Pro Tools. Short answer is this in Chapter 4:
Quote:
MIDI Editor in the Edit Window
You can also choose to show (or hide) a MIDI Editor pane at the bottom of the Edit window (below the Tracks pane).

To show (or hide) the MIDI Editor view in the Edit window, do one of the following:
  • Select (or deselect) View > Other Displays > MIDI Editor.
  • Click the MIDI Editor Show/Hide icon in the lower left corner of the Tracks pane in the Edit window.
  • Double-click the divider below the Tracks pane in the Edit window.
  • From the Edit Window menu, select (or deselect) MIDI Editor.
__________________
Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-30-2009, 09:22 PM
Sherbert99 Sherbert99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 96
Default Re: How to get rid of the split edit window with midi?

Awsome! Thanks for the quick reply.

That was driving me nuts. I got it now.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-01-2009, 10:31 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,382
Default Re: How to get rid of the split edit window with midi?

Yea, this threw a few of us for a minute on the first day.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-24-2013, 03:45 PM
thedavedave thedavedave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: San Jose
Posts: 1
Default Re: How to get rid of the split edit window with midi?

I also accidentally got this problem of the midi window getting put within the edit window.

Now when I double click a midi track the midi window keeps opening within the edit window. It used to open as a separate window, which I liked because it gave more space for viewing and editing.

How can I get the midi window to open as a separate window and not docked within the edit window?

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-19-2021, 05:42 AM
Noemie Noemie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Toulouse, France
Posts: 7
Default Re: How to get rid of the split edit window with midi?

I also would love to get an answer to this question...

I often double click on midi regions by mistake to rename them and this editor opens and it's all a workaround to get it closed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there a way to split the edit window? mbahnmil Pro Tools 9 7 05-08-2012 03:16 PM
Sync Midi Window and Edit Window teafan Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 08-28-2011 03:36 PM
MIDI identity in Edit Window Jel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-22-2010 10:58 AM
Midi: What is this in my edit window?? jpoprock 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-28-2006 08:50 PM
PT 7 midi quantize from edit window Riccardo Corbari Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 11-09-2005 08:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com