Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 09-22-2010, 05:12 PM

Default Oxygen vs Axiom (buy help)

I'm trying to decide whether to get an M-Audio Oxygen 2nd gen 49 or an Axiom 49.

I'm thinking the oxygen but wondering if some features of the axiom are worth the price.

I'm a pianist so weighted keys are nice, and the keys on Axiom are mucg nicer but not 100 dollar difference.

I also thought maybe the pads were really worth the extra money but, I dont know.

But the feature i was VERY curious about was the HyperControl. How good is it and does it have cons? It seems like sometimes you wouldn't want it deciding what to set up the controls for.

Any opinions are valued, but please keep in mind that the price is a very large factor for me, even the 100 bucks because I've got a lot in this and a lot more heading towards it so I'm trying to do it pretty cheap. And I'm a guitarist/composer so when I say I'm a
"pianist" I don't mean thats why I have pro tools, I just play piano and am adjusted to the heavy acoustic feel.

Last edited by play4theworld; 09-22-2010 at 05:17 PM. Reason: Also I'm not sure if the axiom can do this but the oxygen can, sustian pedals are pretty important to me.
Old 09-22-2010, 05:15 PM

Default Re: Oxygen vs Axiom (buy help)

sorry meant 3rd gen, whatevers latest.
Old 09-22-2010, 09:28 PM

You're not going to get acoustic performance out of any digital piano or MIDI Controller. Semi-weighted keyboards with Keyboard Velocity Curve options for some type of Dynamic control would be preferable. Octave counts in some ranges of MIDI Controllers surely are not going to match acoustic pianos.