Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=135)
-   -   S1 Surface Shift to Shift soft key (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=408050)

Finnmaker 01-14-2020 04:14 AM

S1 Surface Shift to Shift soft key
 
Hi! Is there any way of tying the Surface Shift key to the bottom left shift in S1(or making a soft key in the app etc)? I tried going through the possible commands in EuControl and manuals, but couldn't find a way.

I'm using the regular shift and other controls from my keyboard and the Surface Shift is just an unnecessary stretch away, but I find myself using it quite a bit. I have bad wrists from editing tons and try to save them as much as possible.

Thx!

EddieJones 01-15-2020 08:03 AM

Re: S1 Surface Shift to Shift soft key
 
Not at this moment but good idea

Finnmaker 01-15-2020 01:07 PM

Re: S1 Surface Shift to Shift soft key
 
Ok. Thanks for letting me know. Hopefully it would be added. :)

TheBarnOnMaple 11-24-2021 02:03 PM

Re: S1 Surface Shift to Shift soft key
 
I realize this is an old thread but I've just purchased the S1 and am wondering if there's been any addition to the Eucon software that now makes it possible to assign the Surface Shift Function to a user S1 track color key. The positioning of it in the top left is hard on the wrists from an ergonomic standpoint and I'd gladly give up a user key to have this functionality as an option along the bottom row.

EddieJones 11-24-2021 02:06 PM

Re: S1 Surface Shift to Shift soft key
 
There isn't a way currently. I'll bare it in mind for the future

TheBarnOnMaple 11-24-2021 02:15 PM

Re: S1 Surface Shift to Shift soft key
 
Thanks kindly for the update. The main function (as I bought the S1 for mixing) that seems cumbersome and causes wrist pain is reaching the the top left corner every time I want to cycle a tracks automation state. Is there a way to cycle through a tracks automation state by programming a user key? I can see an option to specifically select touch, latch etc.. but I didn't find an option to cycle through via a user key.

BScout 11-24-2021 03:38 PM

Re: S1 Surface Shift to Shift soft key
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by TheBarnOnMaple (Post 2620258)
Thanks kindly for the update. The main function (as I bought the S1 for mixing) that seems cumbersome and causes wrist pain is reaching the the top left corner every time I want to cycle a tracks automation state. Is there a way to cycle through a tracks automation state by programming a user key? I can see an option to specifically select touch, latch etc.. but I didn't find an option to cycle through via a user key.

In EuControl Settings, check the box (center column) "Rec/Auto switch press changes automation modes. SHIFT+Rec/Auto switch press enables track record"

For everyone I work with and myself, that's a better use to keep that on and then you cycle by just pressing the Rec button on the channel. When you want to record, then you use the shift key.

You can also set that EuControl option to a user key to toggle its setting (Soft Keys > Surface > Options > General > Rec-Auto Changes Automation) and then when mixing, you can switch it on so automation is prioritized on the Rec buttons and when recording you can toggle it off so record is prioritized. That way you don't need to use the top shift key at all.

Hope that's helpful.

TheBarnOnMaple 11-24-2021 05:24 PM

Re: S1 Surface Shift to Shift soft key
 
That’s perfect ! Thanks so much for the recommendation, it’s far more useful in that configuration :)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

TheBarnOnMaple 11-25-2021 07:22 AM

Re: S1 Surface Shift to Shift soft key
 
Thanks so much BScout! I seemed to have missed that box in Eucon and it's exactly the default functionality I was hoping for on the S1 :-)


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:30 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com