Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-13-2015, 07:36 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,580
Default Control won't connect - what am I missing?

I have the most current iPad Air, a 6-core nMP Mac running the latest version of PT 11, OS 10.9.5, EuCon 3.3, and both the iPad and Mac are connected to the very same Airport Extreme base station. When I open EuCon I only see my Artist series controllers. I understand that the Artist Control won't operate at the same time as the iPad Control app but even when I turn both Artist series hardware off the iPad app won't register with EuCon. I've restarted both machines, tried restarting EuCon applications via the EuCon app, and followed the steps mentioned in the Control manual. With ProTools running and EuCon turned on in Peripherals I get no activity from the iPad app. Nuthin'!

I'm running Mavericks, not Yosemite. Could this be the issue? Otherwise, all associated hardware and software appears to be on the approved list and configured properly.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-13-2015, 08:58 AM
wmcintyre wmcintyre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: london
Posts: 289
Default Re: Control won't connect - what am I missing?

Might be this ,
go to System Preferences/Eucon preferences and make sure wi fi is selected under network interface
__________________
]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-13-2015, 09:01 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Control won't connect - what am I missing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcintyre View Post
Might be this ,
go to System Preferences/Eucon preferences and make sure wi fi is selected under network interface
I tried that a couple of times, too. It didn't help my Mac find the Control app. Neyrink works (but is currently uninstalled) as does the Logic app. I'm out of options.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-13-2015, 09:40 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Control won't connect - what am I missing?

I can confirm that the OS isn't the problem. I just tried connecting the same iPad to my machine at work, which also uses OS 10.9.5, and EuCon found it right away and it works as expected.

The only blatant difference between the two rigs is that the home Mac (which doesn't work) is connected via WiFi and the work Mac (which does work) is connected via ethernet.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-13-2015, 11:40 AM
Artist PM's Avatar
Artist PM Artist PM is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: California
Posts: 259
Default Re: Control won't connect - what am I missing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
I can confirm that the OS isn't the problem. I just tried connecting the same iPad to my machine at work, which also uses OS 10.9.5, and EuCon found it right away and it works as expected.

The only blatant difference between the two rigs is that the home Mac (which doesn't work) is connected via WiFi and the work Mac (which does work) is connected via ethernet.
Hey Eric,

Send me a network and system profile.

we're investigating a couple of cases.

JC
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-13-2015, 04:26 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Control won't connect - what am I missing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Artist PM View Post
Send me a network and system profile
Gladly, but how do I create those reports?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-13-2015, 05:18 PM
mattrixx mattrixx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 620
Default Re: Control won't connect - what am I missing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
I have the most current iPad Air, a 6-core nMP Mac running the latest version of PT 11, OS 10.9.5, EuCon 3.3, and both the iPad and Mac are connected to the very same Airport Extreme base station. When I open EuCon I only see my Artist series controllers. I understand that the Artist Control won't operate at the same time as the iPad Control app but even when I turn both Artist series hardware off the iPad app won't register with EuCon. I've restarted both machines, tried restarting EuCon applications via the EuCon app, and followed the steps mentioned in the Control manual. With ProTools running and EuCon turned on in Peripherals I get no activity from the iPad app. Nuthin'!

I'm running Mavericks, not Yosemite. Could this be the issue? Otherwise, all associated hardware and software appears to be on the approved list and configured properly.
I have the same problem and have been trying to work through it with Kyle at AVID.
The strangest discovery for me yet, was that my wife's iPad (previous to the Air that I have), connects just fine. I am using Yosemite on both nMP and MBPro...with the same result for each.
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-13-2015, 06:05 PM
eLeMz Music eLeMz Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Davenport, FL
Posts: 1
Default Re: Control won't connect - what am I missing?

Ive run into a similar issue. It seems to be related to Mavericks, as I am able to run PT Control successfully on a Yosemite Macbook using the same Wifi connection and iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-13-2015, 07:47 PM
mattrixx mattrixx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 620
Default Re: Control won't connect - what am I missing?

Both of my 'not working' systems involve Yosemite.
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-13-2015, 07:57 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Control won't connect - what am I missing?

And my working system uses Mavericks so that's not the culprit. Or at least it's not the only guilty party.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to connect Control 24 to Macbook Pro jbmoonshine Third Party Interfaces 2 05-06-2013 08:28 AM
How Do you Connect The Control 24 to 4 192's? Ghieri ICON & C|24 2 04-30-2006 11:23 AM
connect control 24 to my MAC cookie ICON & C|24 3 12-30-2003 07:10 PM
HD -Direct Connect -The Missing links houser Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 01-03-2003 06:30 AM
missing 3rd party direct connect mister 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 10-15-2002 08:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com